



| Date: | December 11, 2020 | |
|---------|-------------------|--|
| Case #: | | |
| RE: | | |
| DOB: | | |

To Employer:

Washington County Public Health is working diligently to keep the community healthy by partnering with local businesses and employers. The above person in your workplace has been diagnosed with COVID-19. We share your concerns about this situation and want to give you information about how to protect workers and prevent spread of this illness to others.

The above employee should stay home from work through the end of the day on 12/14/20, possibly longer if symptoms have not improved.

Washington County Public Health, in accordance with the CDC, requires that all persons diagnosed with COVID-19 stay at home for at least 10 days since the start of illness or the date of test, until they have had no fever for 24 hours, AND their symptoms are improving.

IMPORTANT INFORMATION WHEN A WORKER TESTS POSITIVE:

- People that are identified as close contacts of the case must quarantine for 14 days from last exposure. A close contact is anyone who spent 15 cumulative minutes in a 24-hour period and was within 6 feet of the case during the contagious period starting on 12/04/20.
- If you know of employees, contractors, customers or clients who are close contacts to this case please:
 - Notify them that they have been exposed to COVID-19. They should contact their health provider or occupational health team for guidance on testing and medical care.
 - Have them quarantine for 14 days from their last exposure. This means not coming to work, and otherwise staying home even if they do not have symptoms.
- If two or more workers have tested positive at your worksite notify Washington County Public Health at 503-846-4931. Our Covid Response Team will offer consultation and guidance on cleaning practices, quarantining and best practice to lessen ongoing spread of the virus.
- The Washington County Employer COVID toolkit below details guidance to prevent further spread at your workplace.

 https://www.co.washington.or.us/HHS/CommunicableDiseases/COVID-19/upload/COVID-19/uploa
 - $\frac{https://www.co.washington.or.us/HHS/CommunicableDiseases/COVID-19/upload/COVID-19-Employer-Prevention-and-Response-Toolkit-fillable-assessment.pdf}{}$





COVID-19 OUTBREAKS AT WORKSITES:

- If public health identifies multiple positive workers linked together because of their workplace: location or site, shifts they work together or other factors, a Washington County outbreak team will work with you to identify ongoing risks to workers and ways to minimize COVID-19 exposure in your facility. Oregon law ORS 433.004.
- If an outbreak is identified, you will be asked to complete a workplace notification form regarding your facility: https://bit.ly/35sNgLr
- Employers may be requested to provide a line list of names and dates of birth of individuals tested, test results, and phone numbers for those who test positive. This information can be shared with us without a medical release under existing Oregon public health statutes. Public health statutes include strict privacy controls.
- Employers must maintain all information about employee illness as a confidential medical record in compliance with the ADA. https://www.eeoc.gov/coronavirus
- If Washington County Public Health deems that testing is necessary at your worksite as a means to control the outbreak, we will work with you to provide that service.

MORE INFORMATION ABOUT WORKPLACE OUTBREAKS

The Oregon Health Authority will release the name of your work site on its weekly report: https://govstatus.egov.com/OR-OHA-COVID-19, if you employ more than 30 people and have at least 5 or more cases. If the media asks for more information, we share minimal details and will work directly with you if media interest is high.

NO COVID-19 TESTING REQUIRED TO RETURN TO WORK

- Employees with COVID-19 may return to work after at least 10 days have passed since symptoms first appeared, their fever has been gone for at least 24 hours without any medicine, and symptoms are improving.
- Employees with no COVID-19 symptoms may return to work after 10 days have passed since test was performed.
- A test should NOT be required for return to work after completion of isolation or quarantine.
- If an employer requires testing as a condition of employment, they must pay for that expense. Oregon law ORS 659A.306.

EMPLOYER DIRECT COVID TESTING FOR WORKERS

- If you choose to contract for or provide direct testing to employees, it is important to follow the following:
 - o Employees must be notified of results promptly, whether negative or positive.
 - o Employees with positive test results receive education from a medically trained individual. This education should include what medical care to seek based on symptoms, how long to isolate themselves and how to otherwise protect their families and household members.

ADDITIONAL REFERENCES:

- Governor Kate Brown/Administration/ Executive Order 20-30: https://www.oregon.gov/gov/admin/Pages/eo_20-30.aspx
- Oregon Health Authority/Public Health Division-Chapter333 https://secure.sos.state.or.us/oard/displayDivisionRules.action?selectedDivision=1234
- CDC Guidance for Workplaces and Businesses Responding to COVID-19 (November 2020)
- https://www.cdc.gov/coronavirus/2019-ncov/community/workplacesbusinesses/index.html Reopening Guidance FAQs: General Guidance for Employees (update 07-24-2020)

https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/le2390P.pdf

- All complaints related to worksites can be directed to the Oregon Occupational Safety and Health (OR-OSHA). https://osha.oregon.gov/workers/Pages/index.aspx
- OR OSHA Temporary Rule https://osha.oregon.gov/rules/advisory/infectiousdisease/Pages/default.aspx

If you have any questions, please contact Washington County Public Health directly at 503-846-4931.

Sincerely,

Christina I. Baumann, MD, MPH

Health Officer

Washington County Public Health Division