I have been very worried about climate change for years. I really like the the Citizens' Climate Lobby approach with their carbon fee and dividend proposal. In 2019, Citizens' Climate Lobby successfully urged Democrat Rep. Ted Deutch and Republican Francis Rooney, both from Florida to introduce the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act (H.R. 763). Over the next two years, the number of cosponsors in the U.S. House of Representatives grew to 86 U.S. House members, which was close to 20% of the total members of the U.S House and 36% of the U.S. House Democractic Caucus. 39 co-sponsors of the Green New Deal Resolution were also cosponsors of H.R. 763. Our understanding is that Rep. Deutch and others will reintroduce a new version of the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act at any time.

CCL knows that getting the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act (EICDA) passed by Congress means creating the political will for it. The primary way we will create this is by showing members of Congress that their constituents and prominent individuals in their Congressional districts and states support & endorse the EICDA.

Over the past two years of outreach, the EICDA now has the endorsements of 677 prominent individuals, 933 businesses, 133 faith groups, 130 local governments, 27 news media organizations, 236 nonprofits and 7 tribal entities. Oregon has a long list of endorsements, including the Portland Tribune, Mt. Hood Ski Resort, Timberline Lodge, Benton CO, 7 Portland area bicycle shops, and 28 breweries & wineries across the state.

Over 30 current and past Oregon state legislators have endorsed the EICDA, including most recently House Speaker Tina Kotek and House Majority Leader Barbara Smith Warner. 8 current Oregon state Senators have endorsed the EICDA, including the Senators who have co-sponsored this resolution: Chief Sponsor Senator Michael Dembrow, as well as Senators Lew Frederick, Sara Gelser, Chris Gorsek, Floyd Prozanski, and Kathleen Taylor. Even more 3 members of the Senate Energy and Environment Committee endorsed the EICDA: Committee Chair Lee Beyer, Senator Michael Dembrow, and Senator Kathleen Taylor.

Thus, I hope that the Senate Energy and Environment Committee, as well as the Oregon Senate and Oregon House of Representatives will pass SJM 5 to send a message to President Joe Biden, the United States Congress and our nation to urge Congress to enact bipartisan climate change legislation, such as the Energy Innovation and Carbon Dividend Act (EICDA).

When this bill is reintroduced, it will be greatly appreciated and beneficial for the Oregon Legislature to be the first state legislative in the U.S. to take this strong position that now is a time to pass this legislation that is bipartisan, good for people, good for the economy, revenue neutral, and is effective at reducing the threat of climate change.

Thank you so much for allowing me to share these thoughts with you.

To make this resolution bipartisan, please adopt the SJM 5-1 amendment to delete any mention of H.R. 763 in the amendment, since a newly introduced Congressional bill will be assigned a new bill number. Please also adopt the SJM 5-1 amendment to delete the first two whereas causes so this resolution can attract the bipartisan support it deserves to pass the Oregon Legislature.

Thank you for allowing me to share these thoughts!