

Statement for the Record Senate Health Care Committee February 1, 2021

SB 110, EDR Program

Chair Patterson and members of the committee, please accept this statement for the record on behalf of Dr. John Moorhead, board member of OR-ACEP, the Oregon Chapter of the American College of Emergency Physicians. OR-ACEP is a medical society that has represented physicians specializing in emergency medicine since 1971 and its members share a commitment to improve emergency healthcare for all Oregonians. Dr. Moorhead also serves as the co-chair of the Patient Safety Commission Task Force on Early Dispute Resolution.

OR-ACEP supports SB 110, which would repeal the sunset of the Early Dispute Resolution (EDR) Program in the Oregon Patient Safety Commission. This is the process used to try to change the medical-liability culture in Oregon in collaboration with many other states and health care systems. An adverse health event is traumatic for a patient and for the person who provided their care. The EDR program, which was established by the legislature in 2013, provides a protected forum for physicians and their patients to communicate with each other after an adverse health event and to provide closure when appropriate. The resolution can take many forms, including an apology for what the patient went through.

Oregon is a leader in the arena of EDR and it's the only program that allows a patient to request it. The process is confidential, protects communications with the patient from use in future litigation and may resolve the issue before it becomes a prolonged legal dispute. It also provides an opportunity for healthcare providers to learn from the adverse event, to have a candid conversation with the patient and find ways to improve the system to better protect patients and health outcomes.

EDR is truly a generational change and Oregon is making progress. Thank you for your consideration of this bill. We urge your support to continue this important patient safety work.

Chapter President- Chris Strear, MD FACEP Chapter Executive- Liz Mesberg

President-Elect- Chris Richards, MD FACEPGovernment Relations Director- Katy King