OFFICE OF THE SECRETARY OF STATE

SHEMIA FAGAN SECRETARY OF STATE

CHERYL MYERS DEPUTY SECRETARY OF STATE



900 Court Street NE Salem, Oregon 97310 Information 503-986-1523 oregon.sos@oregon.gov sos.oregon.gov

June 8, 2021

Chair Wagner, Vice-Chair Girod, Members of the Committee:

I write today to offer my support for SCR 7 and SCR 8, resolutions recognizing two of my predecessors in the office of Secretary of State. Both Secretaries Paulus and Richardson led long lives of public service to Oregon and deserve this important recognition.

As Oregon's first woman elected to statewide office, Norma Paulus blazed a trail for generations of women after her — myself included. As a legislator, she had a key role in passing women's rights legislation and in securing Oregon's ratification of the Equal Rights Amendment. As Secretary of State, she capably and confidentially oversaw Oregon's first vote by mail election. She later went on to serve as Superintendent of Public Schools and gave her time generously to good causes around the state.

As Oregon's 26<sup>th</sup> Secretary of State, Dennis Richardson defended Oregon's vote by mail system and worked to improve Oregon voter rolls by extending the period before voters become "inactive." He was a veteran who served with distinction and a leader who earned the admiration of his colleagues. His loss continues to be felt at the Secretary of State's office.

I am humbled and honored to follow in the footsteps of Oregon's previous 27 Secretaries of State. Each of us is chosen by Oregonians to be stewards of this office, which exists to protect the public's access to democracy and improve trust in our democratic institutions.

Thank you for allowing me to officially offer my support for SCR 7 and SCR 8.

Sincerely,

Shemia Fagan, Secretary of State

Point of Contact: Tony Lapiz, Legislative Director Tony.Lapiz@Oregon.Gov