Oregon Association of Community Corrections Directors

OACCD Executive Board Members

Eric Guyer OACCD President, Jackson County Community Justice

Jessica Beach OACCD Vice President, Yamhill County Community Corrections

Aaron Hartman OACCD Secretary, Klamath County Community Corrections

Dale Primmer OACCD Treasurer, Umatilla County Community Justice

Jeff Wood OACCD Past President, Marion County Community Corrections

Committed To, And Value, Offender Reformation, Services to Victims, Crime Prevention, And Community Restoration

www.oaccd.net

Oregon Association of Community Corrections Directors urges your support of HB 2172 A.

Earned discharge directly applies the evidence based concept of rewarding positive behavior, and incentivizing behaviorally healthy choices with freedoms and support enjoyed by all community members. Earned discharge is a step in the right direction to reduce the likelihood of future punitive response from the justice system and incentivize those that have made strong efforts toward change.

HB 2172 A will extend program elements that currently exist for citizens on probation and local control, known statewide as the Earned Discharge. Since its inception in 2013, over 6,300 individuals on probation have successfully had their supervision ended early through the Earned Discharge program. Passage of this bill would extend the ability to end supervision early to those on post prison supervision, resulting in an additional 2,500 citizens per year being eligible for this incentive. This legislation does prohibit those bound to mandatory periods of supervision due to the nature of their crimes, and those who have committed the most violent crimes from being eligible. In addition, this bill removes the requirement that restitution must be paid in full before a person can be eligible for discharge.

Earned Discharge creates a program that is focused on the success of the individual. It is a key ingredient in making supervision more hopeful, smaller and less punitive. This bill is a bold step forward in creating a justice system that values success and rehabilitation.

Please vote yes on HB 2172 A

Oregon Association of Community Corrections Directors

For additional information contact: Lara Smith 503-804-9750

OACCD Executive Board Members

Eric Guyer OACCD President, Jackson County Community Justice

Jessica Beach OACCD Vice President, Yamhill County Community Corrections

Aaron Hartman OACCD Secretary, Klamath County Community Corrections

Dale Primmer OACCD Treasurer, Umatilla County Community Justice

Jeff Wood OACCD Past President, Marion County Community Corrections

Committed To, And Value, Offender Reformation, Services to Victims, Crime Prevention, And Community Restoration

www.oaccd.net