FUNDING REQUEST

\$200,000

Funding for regional multi-jurisdiction conservation, recreation, economic development and resiliency planning in the Nestucca River corridor and adjacent areas

On behalf of

Casey Kulla

Yamhill County Commissioner

Linda Watkins

Mayor, City of Carlton **Scott Hill** Mayor, City of McMinnville

Frank Sheridan

Sheridan City Manager
Yvette Potter

Mayor, City of Yamhill **Barbara Boyer**

Chair, Yamhill Soil and Water Conservation District

Sal Peralta

Chair, Mid-Willamette Valley Council of Governments

Contact:

Sal Peralta

sal.peralta@mcminnvill eoregon.gov 503.437.2833 Chairs Johnson, Rayfield, and Steiner-Hayward and committee members,

We hope this note finds you well. As elected officials and community leaders, we have grown increasingly concerned about the need to protect critical wildlife habitat and watershed and develop recreation and economic opportunities in Oregon's coastal range and to better align the management of federal lands with the needs of local communities.

We have initiated productive conversations with the Bureau of Land Management (BLM) towards the implementation of the BLM's long-term management plan of 40,000 acres in the Little Nestucca Corridor that abuts substantial local and state public lands, including the watersheds of multiple cities, including Carlton, McMinnville, the Tillamook State Forest and the Siuslaw National Forest.

This area has seen significant investment in road infrastructure and maintenance in the last few years.

We are seeking up to \$200,000 in funds from ARPA to an eligible intergovernmental cooperation entity to develop a long-term recreation and conservation plan in the Little Nestucca Corridor and adjacent areas towards three regionally significant goals:

- Improving recreation access by facilitating regional collaboration with the Bureau of Land Management.
- Serving regional economic needs.
- Protecting regional watershed, upon which the water supply of more than 80,000 people, including the cities of McMinnville, Carlton and other communities depend.

Thank you for your consideration regarding this allocation.

Sincerely,

Commissioner Casey Kulla Mayor Yvette Potter Frank Sheridan Sal Peralta Mayor Linda Watkins Mayor Scott A. Hill Barbara Boyer