

9450 SW Commerce Circle, #200 Wilsonville, OR 97070 503-682-3363 www.agc-oregon.org

Members of the Joint Subcommittee on General Government

February 8, 2020

SB 5509

We appreciate the opportunity to provide testimony on SB 5509 (Oregon's Construction Contractors Board 2021-2023 budget and fee bill). The Associated General Contractors Oregon-Columbia Chapter previously supported the temporary fee reduction scheduled to sunset June 30, 2021. The proposed 2021-2023 budget requested by CCB restores the previous level of fees and we are in support.

AGC represents more than 830 member companies and is the only trade association representing the full range of commercial construction companies, from industrial and building to heavy highway and multi-family residential. AGC's members make significant contributions to Oregon's infrastructural and economic health - whether it is building schools or reinforcing Oregon's most traveled bridges and highways.

A key part of a successful construction industry is what CCB provides - from customer service and enforcement to training and wildfire response, their important services are invaluable to consumers and contractors.

CCB's 2019-2021 budget was based on a temporary fee reduction due to the size of their reserves and we understood what that would mean. Additionally, the industry recognizes the challenging financial situation facing CCB and that this fee will allow for them to uphold their high standard in programs and service to the industry.

The construction industry relies on the consistent and predictable regulatory system provided by CCB. Additionally, CCB is a responsible steward of its financial resources and we understood the temporary reduction in fees was not sustainable.

We hope you will join us in supporting CCB's 2021-2023 budget and fee bill (SB 5509).

If you have any questions, please let us know.

Kirsten Adams, Public Affairs Counsel | 503-990-2262 Lauren Kuenzi, Public Affairs Manager | 971-412-1063

2021 OFFICERS

Yohn Baldwin
President
Scott Williams

First Vice President

Steve Malany

Second Vice President

Joel Frasieur Secretary

Joe McDonnell Treasurer

Russ Batzer Immediate Past President

EXECUTIVE DIRECTOR
Mike Salsgiver