## Enrolled

## **Senate Joint Memorial 3**

Sponsored by Senator GIROD, Representative CATE; Senators FINDLEY, KENNEMER, KNOPP, Representatives DRAZAN, HAYDEN, LEIF, LEWIS, MORGAN, OWENS, SMITH DB, STARK (Presession filed.)

To the President of the United States and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Eighty-first Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas the United States has adopted and administered management policies for federal lands that have resulted in the undue accumulation of slash, wood waste and other debris in high volumes; and

Whereas the accumulation of slash, wood waste and other debris on federal lands greatly increases the difficulty of preventing wildfires and hampers the containment and extinguishing of wildfires that originate on federal lands; and

Whereas the United States has adopted and administered wildfire fighting policies for federal lands that inhibit the rapid and effective employment of resources to fight wildfires before the wildfires can spread from federal lands; and

Whereas the spreading of wildfires originating on federal lands has caused significant damage to state and local government real property and private real property in Oregon and elsewhere, including the loss of numerous homes; now, therefore,

## Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eighty-first Legislative Assembly, respectfully urge the President and Congress of the United States to provide and fund an expedient and efficient system to fully reimburse state and local government property owners and private property owners for damage to real property that results from the spreading of wildfires originating on federal lands; and be it further

Resolved, That a copy of this memorial shall be sent to the President of the United States, to the Senate Majority Leader, to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by Senate April 14, 2021
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate
Peter Courtney, President of Senate
Adopted by House May 20, 2021
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House