

Open Government Impact Statement

81st Oregon Legislative Assembly 2021 Regular Session

Measure: SB 554 - B

Only impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Prepared by: Cameron D. Miles Date: 4/30/2021

SUMMARY

Requires person to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock, in locked container or in gun room except in specified circumstances. Punishes violation by maximum of \$500 fine. Punishes violation by maximum of \$2,000 fine if minor obtains unsecured firearm as result of violation. Provides that failure to secure firearm as required constitutes negligence per se. Specifies exceptions.

Requires owner or possessor of firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or in locked container when transferring firearm under circumstances requiring criminal background check. Punishes violation by maximum of \$500 fine. Provides that transfer of unsecured firearm constitutes negligence per se. Specifies exceptions.

Requires person to report loss or theft of firearm within 72 hours of time person knew or reasonably should have known of loss or theft. Provides that failure to report lost or stolen firearm constitutes negligence per se. Punishes violation of requirement by maximum of \$1,000 fine.

Requires person transferring firearm to minor to directly supervise minor's use of firearm. Provides that failure to supervise minor constitutes negligence per se. Authorizes person to transfer supervisory duty to another person. Specifies exceptions.

Authorizes board of public university, Oregon Health and Science University, community college or school district to adopt policy providing that affirmative defense for concealed handgun licensees possessing firearms on school grounds does not apply. Provides that in prosecution for possession of firearm on school grounds subject to policy, within Capitol, or within passenger terminal of certain airports, concealed handgun licensee affirmative defense is not complete defense but results in Class A misdemeanor conviction punishable by 364 days' imprisonment, \$6,250 fine, or both. Modifies definition of "public building," for purposes of crime of possession of weapon in public building, to include passenger terminal of certain airports. Creates affirmative defense to crime for persons who possess unloaded firearm in passenger terminal in locked container for transportation in accordance with federal law.

Increases fees payable to county sheriff for issuance and renewal of concealed handgun license.

Takes effect on 91st day following adjournment sine die.

NOTICE OF <u>NO OPEN GOVERNMENT IMPACT</u>