FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

81st Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2021 Regular Session Legislative Fiscal Office

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Measure: HB 2513 A

Prepared by: Tim Walker

Reviewed by: Julie Neburka, Amanda Beitel, Michelle Deister, Doug Wilson, Laurie Byerly, John Borden,

Paul Siebert

Date: 04/01/2021

Measure Description:

Requires police officers to be trained in airway and circulatory anatomy and physiology and certified in cardiopulmonary resuscitation.

Government Unit(s) Affected:

Cities, Oregon Judicial Department (OJD), Oregon State Police (OSP), Counties, School Districts, Oregon Health Sciences University (OHSU), Oregon State Lottery, Office of the Governor, Department of Justice (DOJ), Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC), Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC), Public Universities, Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST)

Summary of Fiscal Impact:

Costs related to the measure may require budgetary action - See analysis.

Analysis:

HB 2513 with the -5 amendment requires the Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST) to provide airway anatomy and physiology education as well as cardiopulmonary resuscitation (CPR) training to officers as part of basic police certificate training. The measure creates continuing education and CPR certification requirements for police officers and requires peace officers to request emergency medical services for a restrained person suffering respiratory or cardiac compromise if it is tactically feasible and if the officer has access to communications.

Current administrative rule requires all public safety agency officers to have valid first aid and CPR certifications and maintain these certifications throughout their employment in public safety. DPSST keeps a record of officers' certifications and expiration dates. The measure would require an initial 3 hours of training and an additional 2 hours of training in each maintenance training period.

Oregon State Police (OSP)

Oregon State Police anticipates a minimal fiscal impact from this measure due to the increased frequency of CPR training. If these additional costs could not be absorbed within current resources, the agency anticipates that it would request additional funding from the Emergency Board or during a Legislative session.

Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST)

As the training required by this measure is required to be included in the existing Basic Police Course, the fiscal impact on DPSST is minimal and can be accommodated in the agency's existing budget.

Department of Justice

The Department of Justice anticipates a minimal fiscal impact for training agents, which the agency should be able to absorb.

Page 1 of 2 HB 2513 A

The Oregon State Lottery, Office of the Governor, Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC), Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC), Public Universities do not anticipate a fiscal impact from this measure.

Cities, Counties

Both cities and counties anticipate a fiscal impact around the requirement to provide additional training for their law enforcement officers. At roughly 5 hours of training per officer, the costs to cities is estimated to be \$682,500 and \$411,250 to counties to complete the required training.

Page 2 of 2 HB 2513 A