Legislative Fiscal Office

Oregon State Capitol 900 Court Street NE, H-178 Salem, OR 97301 503-986-1828

Paul Siebert, Deputy Legislative Fiscal Officer (Audit/IT)



Sen. Betsy Johnson, Senate Co-Chair Sen. Elizabeth Steiner Hayward, Senate Co-Chair Rep. Dan Rayfield, House Co-Chair

Joint Committee on Ways and Means

Sen. Fred Girod, Senate Co-Vice Chair Rep. David Gomberg, House Co-Vice Chair Rep. Greg Smith, House Co-Vice Chair

Laurie Byerly, Interim Legislative Fiscal Officer
Amanda Beitel, Deputy Legislative Fiscal Officer (Budget)

To: Transportation and Economic Development Subcommittee

From: Michelle Deister, Legislative Fiscal Office

Date: June 14, 2021

Subject: HB 3000, relating to cannabis

Work Session Recommendations

Delta-9 tetrahydrocannabinol is the primary intoxicating component in cannabis and is regulated by the Oregon Health Authority (OHA) and the Oregon Liquor Control Commission (OLCC). The measure defines multiple terms specific to cannabis and cannabinoids. The measure authorizes OLCC to regulate artificially derived cannabinoids and directs OLCC, OHA and ODA, to adopt rules related to maximum concentration limits of THC, inspections, regulation and testing of products, licensing and handling.

This measure was previously heard in House Committee on General Government on 3/25, 3/30, 4/1 and 4/13 and in the House Committee on Rules on 4/19, 4/20, 5/14 and 5/27 and voted out with the do pass recommendation.

Recommended Changes

LFO recommends adoption of the -B13 amendment, which includes conforming language, and provides the necessary expenditure limitation to the Oregon Health Authority, the Oregon Liquor Control Commission, and the Criminal Justice Commission to carry out provisions related to the measure.

Final Subcommittee Action

LFO recommends that HB 3000 as amended by the -B13 amendment, to be moved to the Ways and Means Full Committee.

| <u>Carriers</u> | | |
|-----------------|--|--|
| | | |
| Full Committee: | | |

| House Floor: | | |
|---------------|------|--|
| | | |
| Senate Floor: | | |