WHAT IS CRIME VICTIMS' COMPENSATION?

In 1977, the Oregon Crime Victims' Compensation (CVC) Program was created to assist victims of violent crime with expenses associated with the crime. Violent crime includes domestic violence, sexual assault, child abuse, robbery, assault, homicide or other compensable crimes resulting in a physical or psychological injury. The mission of the CVC program is to ease the financial impact of these crimes on victims, survivors and their families.

CVC PAYS FOR REASONABLE CRIME- RELATED EXPENSES INCLUDING:

- Up to \$20,000 for medical and/or counseling* expenses including eyeglasses, hearing aids, dentures, and other medically necessary devices and expenses.
- Up to \$20,000 for grief counseling expenses for survivors of a deceased victim.
- Documented loss of earnings/support up to \$400 per week for a maximum of \$20,000. (\$600 per week for crimes occurring after 01/01/2018)
- Funeral expenses up to a maximum of \$5,000.
- Rehabilitation up to a maximum of \$4,000.
- Reimbursement of mileage (30¢ per mile) for travel to medical/ mental health treatment up to maximum of \$3,000. This only applies when a victim is required to travel over 60 miles roundtrip and there are no closer options.
- Up to \$10,000 for counseling expenses for children who witness domestic violence.
- Up to \$1,000 for counseling expenses for family members of an Oregon resident who is a victim of international terrorism.
- Up to \$500 for counseling expenses for friends or acquaintances of a deceased victim who are the first to discover the deceased victim's body.

*In cases of child sex abuse, this award would include counseling expenses for the victim's family.

TO BE ELIGIBLE FOR CVC YOU MUST:

- 1. Be a victim of a compensable crime that occurred in Oregon. Compensable crime means an intentional, knowing, reckless or criminally negligent act by a person resulting in injury or death of another person which would be punishable as a crime.
- 2. Report the crime to the appropriate law enforcement officials within 72 hours.*
- 3. Cooperate with law enforcement (waived in cases of sex abuse, sexual assault, domestic violence or stalking). *
- 4. Apply within one (1) year of the date of the criminal injury.*

DOMESTIC VIOLENCE AND SEXUAL ASSAULT COUNSELING BENEFIT

Victims of sexual assault or domestic violence who do not meet all eligibility requirements may still qualify for counseling expenses.

VICTIMS ARE NOT ELIGIBLE IF:

- The injury or death resulted from the victim's own criminal conduct.
- The crime solely involved property damage or loss.
- The injury or death resulted from a non-criminal event (accident).
- The crime occurred before Oregon CVCP became effective in January 1978.

PROCESSING OF APPLICATIONS WILL BE DEFERRED IF:

- The victim is incarcerated.
- The victim owes money as a result of a criminal conviction for a violent crime.

ACCEPTING A CLAIM FOR CVC:

After receiving the application, CVC will review police reports, medical charts and any other information available in order to determine if a victim or survivor is eligible for CVC benefits. A typical application takes 60-90 days to review and process.

If an applicant has other benefits available (health insurance, auto insurance, workers compensation, and medical disability), those must be used before CVC will pay expenses. CVC will pay copays and deductibles as well as crime related treatment that insurance does not cover. If the applicant receives money as the result of a lawsuit against the offender, any money paid by CVC must be repaid to the Department.

HOW TO SUBMIT AN APPLICATION:

- Crime Victim's Portal: https://justice.oregon.gov/victims/compensation/Account/Login
- Send an application to:

Crime Victim and Survivor Services Division 1162 Court Street NE, Salem OR 97301 Telephone: (503) 378-5348 FAX: (503) 378-5738

• Apply at your local District Attorney's Office Victim Assistance Program

^{*}May be waived for good reason

STATEMENT OF NONDISCRIMINATION AND COMPLIANCE WITH THE AMERICANS WITH DISABILITIES ACT (ADA)

The Americans with Disabilities Act of 1990 (ADA) requires all programs, services and activities of state and local governmental agencies to be accessible to persons with disabilities.

The Oregon Department of Justice does not discriminate in providing access to its programs, services and activities on the basis of race, color, religion, ancestry, national origin, political affiliation, sex, age, marital status, sexual orientation, physical or mental disability, or any other inappropriate reason prohibited by law or policy of the state or federal government.

For additional information regarding (1) the Department's ADA compliance, (2) its policy of nondiscrimination, (3) availability of the information in this pamphlet in a different format or (4) procedures for resolving a complaint that the Department has discriminated in providing access to the Department's programs, services and activities—please contact the Department's ADA Coordinator:

> Personnel and Training Manager 1162 Court Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301-4096 Telephone: 503-378-5555

1162 Court Street NE Salem, Oregon 97301

CRIME VICTIMS' COMPENSATION PROGRAM Oregon Department of Justice **Crime Victims**' **Compensation**

Financial help for crime victims and survivors



CRIME VICTIM & SURVIVOR SERVICES DIVISION OREGON DEPARTMENT OF JUSTICE (503) 378-5348 (800) 503-7983

> www.doj.state.or.us/victims Victims' Compensation Portal:

https://justice.oregon.gov/victims/compensation/Account/Login