

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: April 27, 2021

- By: Leslie Porter, LPRO Analyst
- Re: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

OREGON CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Appointees

Jeffrey Auxier of Scappoose; New Appointment Rob Bovett of Salem; Reappointment

Term

Auxier: May 14, 2021 – May 13, 2025 Bovett: April 20, 2021 – April 19, 2025

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 137.654 (2019)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Statutory Requirements³

The commission consists of nine members.⁴ The Governor appoints seven members, one of whom is appointed as the chairperson (**AUXIER (D)**, BALL (D), BEACH (N/A), **BOVETT (N/A)**, HICKS (R), KAMPFE (D), TAPIA (D)). No more than four members may belong to the same political party.

The President of the Senate appoints one state Senator as a nonvoting member (PROZANSKI).

The Speaker of the House of Representatives shall appoint one state Representative as a nonvoting member (STARK).

Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2019).

² ORS 244.050 (2019).

³ ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 137.654 (2019).

Members serve at the pleasure of the appointing authority. Members serve four-year terms or until the end of a legislative member's legislative term, whichever occurs first. Members are eligible for reappointment but may serve no more than two consecutive terms.

Duties and Authority

The primary duty of the commission is to develop and maintain a state criminal justice policy and comprehensive, long-range plan for a coordinated state criminal justice system that encompasses public safety, offender accountability, crime reduction and prevention, and offender treatment and rehabilitation.⁵ The commission:⁶

- conducts joint studies by agreement with other state agencies, boards or commissions on any matter within the jurisdiction of the commission;
- serves as a clearinghouse for the collection, preparation, analysis and dissemination of information on state and local sentencing practices and best practices applicable to drug court programs;
- provides technical assistance and support to local public safety coordinating councils;
- receives grant applications to start or expand drug court programs and makes rules to govern the grant process and to award grant funds;
- prepares racial and ethnic impact statements for proposed legislation and state measures;
- amends criminal sentencing guidelines and submits proposed amendments to the Legislative Assembly for approval; and
- at the direction of the chairperson, creates any new committees within the commission.

⁵ ORS 137.656 (2019).

⁶ ORS 137.656 to 137.685 (2019).

Criminal Justice Commission, Oregon Agency: Corrections Authorization: ORS 137.654 Members: Min: 9 Max: 9 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes	Policy Area: Public Safety Board Contact: Ken Sanchagrin Criminal Justice Commission 885 Summer Street NE Salem, OR 97301 971-719-6000 Fax: 503-378-4861 ken.sanchagrin@oregon.gov
urrent Appointments: Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)	
Jeff Auxier Democrat Term(s): 05-14-2021 - 05-13-2025	Position Number: 2
Robert D Ball, Chair Democrat Term(s): 09-26-2016 - 09-25-2020	Position Number: 7
Jessica L Beach Not a member of a party Term(s): 12-13-2020 - 12-12-2024 09-28-2018 - 12-12-2020	Position Number: 6
Rob Bovett Not a member of a party Term(s): 04-20-2021 - 04-19-2025 04-20-2017 - 04-19-2021 09-19-2014 - 04-19-2017	Position Number: 5
Wally Hicks Republican Term(s): 02-18-2020 - 02-17-2024 02-18-2016 - 02-17-2020	Position Number: 4
Jessica O Kampfe Democrat Term(s): 02-14-2018 - 02-13-2022	Position Number: 3
Floyd Prozanski, Senator Senate President's Appointment Term(s):	Position Number: 9
Duane Stark House Speaker Appointment Term(s):	Position Number: 8

Criminal Justice Commission, Oregon

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Sebastian Tapia Democrat Term(s): 02-18-2020 - 02-17-2024 02-18-2016 - 02-17-2020 Policy Area: Public Safety

Position Number: 1