SB 712 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

House Committee On Education

Prepared By: Matt Perreault, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 5/4, 5/13

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Modifies membership of Higher Education Coordinating Commission. Increases number of voting positions to 15. Redesignates current nonvoting positions on commission as voting positions. Adds graduate student of public university as voting position on commission. Specifies that changes apply to commission appointments made after effective date.

Senate Vote: Passed. Ayes, 18; Nays, 10--Anderson, Findley, Girod, Hansell, Johnson, Kennemer, Knopp, Linthicum, Robinson, Thatcher; Excused, 2--Heard, Thomsen.

FISCAL: Has minimal fiscal impact

REVENUE: No revenue impact

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Creation of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission and institutional governing boards
- Reasons for separating voting and nonvoting positions on commission
- Ability for current nonvoting members to suspend conflicts of interest
- Consensus-driven approach among voting and nonvoting members on commission
- Necessity of changes to existing commission structure
- Comparison to other public bodies
- Value of including stakeholders in deliberation and decision-making process

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

The Higher Education Coordinating Commission is currently composed of fourteen members: Nine members hold voting positions, while five hold nonvoting positions. Oregon law specifies that the voting members include a person from each of Oregon's five congressional districts and four members of the general public at large, who are Oregon residents and are informed on the principles of higher education. In addition, the law specifies that the five nonvoting commission positions include a student and a faculty member from both a public university and a community college plus a nonfaculty member from either type of institution. The commission's voting members serve four-year terms while nonvoting members serve two-year terms. Each member is appointed by the Governor and confirmed by the state Senate.

The Higher Education Coordinating Commission was established in 2011 by Senate Bill 242 as part of a broad reorganization of the state's higher education governance structure. The commission was originally composed of 15 members from various sectors, including students. The commission's membership was modified to its current composition by House Bill 3120 (2013).

Senate Bill 712 modifies the membership of the Higher Education Coordinating Commission to include 15 voting members, including each of the formerly nonvoting members and an additional member who is a graduate student of a public university.