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We are the Child Welfare Division 

• Mission: To ensure every child and family is 
empowered to live a safe, stable and healthy 
life 

• Part of a larger statewide social system that 
works to support children and families and 
communities
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Child Welfare Division Vision for Transformation 



Reporting child abuse in Oregon
Kristen Khamnohack (she/her) 

Screening Program/ORCAH Manager



Definitions of abuse

Child Abuse
Under the age of 18

• Physical Abuse

• Sexual Abuse

• Mental Injury

• Neglect

• Threat of Harm

Young Adult Abuse 

Under the age of 21, in care/receiving 
services

• Physical injury/willful infliction of pain

• Wrongful use of physical or chemical 
restraint

• Involuntary seclusion

• Sexual Abuse

• Verbal Abuse

• Neglect

• Abandonment

• Financial Exploitation
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Who reports child abuse in Oregon?

• Mandatory reporters 
accounted for 78.4 percent 
of the screening reports 
received by Child Welfare. 

• Of all reports in 2020, 36.6 
percent came from schools 
and law enforcement 
agencies. 
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School, 17.90%

Medical, 9.30%

Other mandated 
reporters, 32.40%

Other non-
mandated 

reporters, 14.40%

Parent/Self, 
7.30%

Police, 18.70%

2020 Source of Suspected Child Abuse 
Reports



Mandatory reporters must report child abuse immediately

• Reports of child abuse can 
be received 24 hours a 
day, seven days per week, 
365 days a year.

• If the child is in danger 
or immediate assistance is 
needed, call 911.

• To report child abuse or 
concerns for child safety, 
call the Oregon Child 
Abuse Hotline at 1-855-
503-SAFE.
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Mandatory reporter definition and duties (ORS.419B.010)

Any public or private official having 

reasonable cause to believe that any 

child with whom the official comes in 

contact has suffered abuse or that any 

person with whom the official comes in 

contact has abused a child shall 

immediately report or cause a report to 

be made in the manner required.
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45 types of professionals are identified as mandatory 
reporters
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Medical providers

First responders and 

law enforcement
Government officials  

Legal professionals Educators   

Child caring professionals 



Medical providers

• Physician or physician assistant licensed or naturopathic physician, including any intern or resident

• Dentist

• Licensed practical nurse, registered nurse, nurse practitioner, nurse’s aide, home health aide or 

employee of an in-home health service

• Psychologist

• Optometrist

• Chiropractor 

• Physical, speech or occupational therapist

• Audiologist

• Speech-language pathologist

• Licensed professional counselor

• Licensed marriage and family therapist

• Pharmacist
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Public service 

• Regulated social worker

• Department of Human Services 

• Oregon Health Authority

• Early Learning Division

• Department of Education

• Youth Development Division

• Office of Child Care

• Oregon Youth Authority

• A local health department 

• A county juvenile department

• A child-caring agency

• Member of the Legislative Assembly

• An individual who is paid by a public body to provide a service identified in an 

individualized written service plan of a child with a developmental disability
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Educators and community program members 

• School employee, including an 
employee of a higher education 
institution

• Employee of the Teacher Standards 
and Practices Commission directly 
involved in investigations or discipline 
by the commission

• An operator of a preschool recorded 
program

• An operator of a school-age recorded 
program

• Member of a school district board or 
public charter school governing body

• Member of the clergy

• A community mental health program

• A community developmental 
disabilities program

• An alcohol and drug treatment 
program
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Child and young adult caregivers

• Certified provider of foster care, or an employee thereof

• A childcare provider registered or certified

• Personal support worker

• Home care worker

• Employee of a private agency or organization facilitating the 

provision of respite services for parents pursuant to a 

properly executed power of attorney

• Employee of a public or private organization providing child-

related services or activities: A coach, assistant coach or 

trainer of an amateur, semiprofessional or professional 

athlete, if compensated and if the athlete is a child
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Legal professionals, advocates, law enforcement and 
first responders

• Peace officer 

• Firefighter or emergency medical services provider

• Animal control officer

• Attorney

• Court appointed special advocate
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Exceptions to mandatory reporting requirements

• If there is reasonable reason to believe that the information is already known 
by a law enforcement agency or the Oregon Department of Human Services.

• Attorney client privilege: An attorney is not required to make a report under 
this section by reason of information communicated to the attorney while 
representing a client if disclosure of the information would be detrimental to 
the client.

• Other privileged relationships: Those people who have the right of privileged 
communication by ORS 40.225 to 40.295 are not required to report 
information about abuse if they gain the information where the 
professional/client relationship is protected. 

• We encourage anyone with questions about these exceptions and whether 
they apply to contact the Department or their licensing board. 
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Barriers to reporting child abuse
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Barrier Example

Complacency “It’s probably fine, it will be ok.” 

Uncertainty “I did not know what to do.” 

“I did not know if it was actually abuse.”

Group Think “We always do it this way.” 

“This is how we do things.”

Hierarchical pressure “My manager does not want me to report it.” 

Competing priorities “I am too busy.”

Lack of accountability “I cannot be bothered.”

Entrenched cultures “We do not need to worry … we have no issue here.”



Racial disproportionality and bias in reporting

• Research suggests that child abuse occurs across racial and ethnic groups at 
similar rates.

• Families of color, particularly Tribal and Black families, are reported far more 
often. 

• This racial disproportionality, is connected to personal and systemic bias. 

• Racial disproportionality refers to a racial or ethnic group’s 
underrepresentation or overrepresentation compared to the group’s 
percentage in the total population. 

• In Oregon and across the nation, children of color are overrepresented in the 
child welfare system at alarming rates.
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Child abuse reporting training, tools and resources

• Mandatory reporter video

• Department websites: Child Safety and Mandatory Reporting of Child Abuse

• Prevention and Resources

• General Child Welfare Frequently Asked Questions

• Tools and Guides

• Child Abuse Reporting Guide

• What you can do about child abuse

• COVID-19 Family Wellbeing Assessment

• Guidance for Helpers in a Virtual Environment

• Train the Trainer: Child Welfare staff and Child Advocacy Intervention Centers 

• Request Mandatory Reporter Training in your community
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https://youtu.be/3ZeMm-YdN9k
https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/CHILDREN/CHILD-ABUSE/Pages/index.aspx
https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/abuse/pages/mandatory_report.aspx
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/de2458.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/de2807.pdf?CFGRIDKEY=DHS%202807%2c%2cChild%20Abuse%20Reporting%20Guide%20ENGLISH%2cde2807.pdf%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c../FORMS/-%2c%2c../FORMS/-%2c
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/de9061.pdf?CFGRIDKEY=DHS%209061%2c9061%2cWhat%20you%20can%20do%20about%20child%20abuse%2cde9061.pdf%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c%2c../FORMS/-%2c%2c../FORMS/-%2c
https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/CHILDREN/Documents/FamilyWellbeingAssessment.pdf
https://sharedsystems.dhsoha.state.or.us/DHSForms/Served/de3430.pdf
https://www.surveymonkey.com/r/ORCAHMRT


Child abuse prevention organizations and partners

• Oregon Child Abuse Solutions

• Safe Families

• 211info

• Kinship Navigator​

• Oregon Association of Relief Nurseries

• Prevent Child Abuse Oregon

• Parent Helpline​ (Morrison Center)

• Oregon Parenting Education Collaborative​

• Safe Sleep Resources
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https://oregoncas.org/
https://portland.safe-families.org/
https://www.211info.org/
https://oregonkinshipnavigator.org/
https://www.oregonreliefnurseries.org/
https://preventchildabuseoregon.org/
https://morrisonkids.org/programs/prevention-education/parents-anonymous-of-oregon-parent-mentor-program/
https://orparenting.org/
https://www.oregon.gov/dhs/CHILDREN/CIRT/Pages/Sleep.aspx


COVID-19 partnerships and collaboration

• Collaboration with Oregon Department of 
Education and key partners from school districts 
across the state.

• Collaboration with Oregon Child Abuse Solution 
and Child Advocacy and Intervention Centers. 

• Increase collaboration with child welfare multi-
disciplinary teams.

• Statewide child abuse reporting communication 
strategy.

• Outreach to mandatory reporters on when and 
how to report child abuse.
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Oregon Child Abuse Hotline (ORCAH)

Vision: Engage our communities, 

including mandatory reporters, and 

respond to reports of child abuse in a 

transparent way. Our vision is to do so 

while ensuring our children and youth, 

in their own communities, are safe. 

Mission: To receive reports of child 

abuse and provide excellent customer 

service with equitable and consistent 

decision making to ensure safety for 

Oregon’s children.
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Types of calls received at ORCAH

May 10, 2021 Oregon Department of Human Services – Child Welfare Division 23

Suspected reports of child abuse.

Requests for assistance from the Child Welfare Division – Family Support Services.

Information involving a setting screened and investigated by the OTIS.

Information involving an open CPS assessment, open Child Welfare case or a certified foster home.

Requests for other types of community resource information or service referrals.

Notifications to Child Welfare Division.



ORCAH Contact Volume: April 2019 - April 2021
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2020 Safety decision by reporter type
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March 2021: Screener staffing

Total Percentage

Screening FTE Allocation 140.5

Screening 123.5 88%

Rotation (out of ORCAH) 1 0.7%

Lead Trainers 2 1.4%

Lead Continuous Quality 

Improvement Specialists
4 2.8%

Vacancies 10 7%
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Questions?


