

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: March 23, 2021

By: Leslie Porter, LPRO Analyst
Re: Legislative Review of Executive

Appointments

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

ALCOHOL AND DRUG POLICY COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Appointees

Jill Archer of Portland; New Appointment Don Mazziotti of Portland; Reappointment

Term

Archer: April 19, 2021 - April 18, 2025

Mazziotti: September 26, 2020 - September 25, 2024

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 430.221 (2019)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Statutory Requirements³

The commission consists of no more than 17 members appointed, as the Governor deems practicable, to ensure representation from stakeholders directly impacted by the work of the commission.⁴

At least 75 percent of the appointed members must be representatives of the following public health and health care stakeholder groups:

- county commissioners, managers, and administrators (MINTY MORRIS);
- Indian tribes (CRUZ);
- providers of addiction prevention and recovery services (ANDERSON, VEZINA, HOLTON, JORDAN);
- alcohol or drug treatment researchers or epidemiologists (NISSEN, VACANT);
- the health insurance industry or hospitals (ARCHER);

¹ See Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2019).

² See ORS 244.050 (2019).

³ See ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 430.241 (2019).

- consumers of addiction recovery services who are in recovery and the family members of consumers (GODVIN, SHAFFER, VACANT);
- experts in addiction medicine;
- entities that provide housing to individuals who are in recovery (MAZZIOTTI); and
- social service providers.

Up to 25 percent of the appointed members must be representatives of one or more of the following stakeholder groups:

- district attorneys (CLARKSON);
- county sheriffs (GARRETT);
- chiefs of police;
- criminal defense attorneys (GRIFFIN); and
- county community corrections agencies (GAOIRAN).

The President of the Senate appoints one nonvoting member of the Senate (MONNES ANDERSON).

The Speaker of the House appoints one nonvoting member of the House of Representatives (SOLLMAN).

The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court appoints one nonvoting judge of the circuit court (BLOCH).

Members serve four-year terms. The Governor appoints a Director and all gubernatorial appointees serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Non-legislative members are entitled to per diem.

Duties and Authority

The commission was created to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of state and local substance use disorder prevention, treatment, and recovery services for Oregonians.

The commission must develop, review, and update a comprehensive addiction, prevention, treatment and recovery plan for this state which must include, but is not limited to, recommendations regarding:⁵

- capacity, type and utilization of programs;
- methods to assess the effectiveness and performance of programs;
- the best use of existing programs;
- budget policy priorities for participating state agencies;
- standards for licensing programs;
- minimum standards for contracting for, providing and coordinating alcohol and drug abuse prevention and treatment services among programs that use federal, private or state funds administered by the state; and

⁵ ORS 430.223 (2019).

March 23, 2021 Page | 2

• the most effective and efficient use of participating state agency resources to support programs.

The commission may also conduct studies related to the duties of the commission in collaboration with other state agencies. 6

⁶ *Id*.

March 23, 2021 Page | 3

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission

Agency: Oregon Health Authority

Authorization: ORS 430.241; 430.242 Members: Min: 16 Max: 20 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Health

Board Contact: Reginald Richardson Salem, OR 97301 971-720-0532

reginald.richardson@state.or.us

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Brad Anderson, MD

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022 Position Number: 16

Jill Archer

CCO Representative

Term(s): 04-19-2021 - 04-18-2025 Position Number: 20

Eric J Bloch

Circuit Court Judge; non-voting

Term(s):

Position Number: 14

Paige E Clarkson

District Attorney

06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022 Term(s):

Position Number: 1

Caroline M Cruz

Tribal Representative

Term(s): 12-17-2018 - 09-27-2022 Position Number: 4

Nate Gaoiran, Vice-Chair

Director, Josephine County Corrections

02-17-2020 - 02-16-2024 Term(s):

02-17-2016 - 02-16-2020

Position Number: 3

Patrick J Garrett

Sheriff Term(s):

03-01-2016 - 02-29-2020

03-01-2012 - 02-29-2016

Morgan E Godvin

Person Seeking Treatment

02-14-2020 - 02-13-2024 Term(s):

Position Number: 2

Kat Griffin

Defense Attorney

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022 Position Number: 11

Position Number: 9

Printed Date: 3/15/2021 Page 1 of 3

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Dwight C Holton

Prevention Representative

10-01-2017 - 09-30-2021 Term(s):

09-19-2014 - 09-30-2017

Anthony Jordan, Chair

Term(s): 11-17-2017 - 11-16-2021

Donald F Mazziotti, JD

Term(s): 09-26-2020 - 09-25-2024

09-26-2016 - 09-25-2020

Donald F Mazziotti, JD

09-26-2020 - 09-25-2024 Term(s):

09-26-2016 - 09-25-2020

Kelley M Minty Morris

County Commissioner

10-01-2020 - 05-31-2022 Term(s):

Laurie Monnes Anderson

Senate President Appointment; non-voting

Term(s):

Laura B Nissen

Prevention Representative

09-28-2018 - 09-27-2022 Term(s):

Willie J Shaffer

Term(s): 09-26-2016 - 09-25-2020

Janeen Sollman

House of Representatives; non-voting

Term(s):

Tony J Vezina

Term(s): 10-01-2020 - 02-28-2022 Policy Area: Health

Position Number: 6

Position Number: 18

Position Number: 5

Position Number: 5

Position Number: 19

Position Number: 13

Position Number: 12

Position Number: 7

Position Number: 15

Position Number: 10

Printed Date: 3/15/2021 Page 2 of 3

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical) Policy Area: Health

Vacant Appointments:

Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
8	Elizabeth Waddell	Governor	11/17/2017	11/16/2021
8	Dennis McCarty, PhD	Governor	10/01/2013	09/30/2017
	Researcher			
8	C. Lane Borg, JD	Governor	06/01/2010	05/31/2014
	Criminal Defense Attorney			
8	Ilisa H Rooke-Ley	Governor	10/01/2009	
	Criminal Defense Attorney			
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
17	Cindy L Weinhold	Governor	06/01/2016	05/31/2020
	Parent of consumer			
17	Ellen Rosenblum	Statute/Bill		
	Oregon Attorney General			

Printed Date: 3/15/2021 Page 3 of 3