# FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

81st Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2021 Regular Session Legislative Fiscal Office

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Measure: HB 2992 - 2

Prepared by: Kim To

Reviewed by: Laurie Byerly, Theresa McHugh, Matt Stayner, John Terpening, Julie Neburka, Paul Siebert,

Doug Wilson

Date: March 23, 2021

## **Measure Description:**

Requires state boards or commissions to pay compensation and expenses to certain members with adjusted gross income below certain threshold.

#### **Government Unit(s) Affected:**

Statewide

# **Summary of Fiscal Impact:**

Costs related to the measure is indeterminate at this time - See analysis.

## **Analysis:**

HB 2992 with the -2 amendment specifies that the compensation paid to members of a state board or commission who are "qualified members" should be equal to the per diem paid to members of the Legislative Assembly. The measure defines a "qualified member" as a person who is not in full-time public service and who has an adjusted gross income of less than \$50,000 if filing other than a joint return or \$100,000 if filing a joint return. The measure allows any member of a state board or commission to decline compensation or reimbursement of expenses related to the member's service on the board or commission. The measure takes effect on the 91st day after the date on which the 2021 legislative session adjourns sine die.

Current law sets the compensation paid to members of state boards and commissions at \$30 a day during which the member is engaged in the performance of official duties. Members may also receive reimbursement for travel and other expenses within limits provided by the Oregon Department of Administrative Services (DAS). The measure removes the \$30 a day per diem amount and instead requires compensation be paid no less than the per diem allowance paid to members of the Legislative Assembly. Per diem for legislative members is based on the U.S. General Services Administration (GSA) rate for Oregon for lodging, meals, and incidentals (currently \$151). It is unclear whether the measure could override existing statutes that require the members of certain boards and commissions to serve without compensation. Absent legislative guidance or a conforming amendment, this fiscal impact analysis assumes these members will continue to be uncompensated.

For most agencies with boards and commissions, the fiscal impact of this measure is indeterminate but anticipated to be absorbable within existing budgetary resources, depending on the number of members who meet the income thresholds specified by the measure, the number of meetings they attend, and whether they opt to decline compensation. As a frame of reference, the following are projections of potential 2021-23 impact for a sampling of state agencies:

Oregon Watershed Enhancement Board (OWEB)	\$ 26,576
Department of Public Safety Standards and Training (DPSST)	\$ 35,032
Teacher Standards and Practices Commission (TSPC)	\$ 58,932
Oregon Parks and Recreation Department (OPRD)	\$ 90,000
Department of Energy (DOE)	\$152,852

Page 1 of 1 HB 2992 - 2