# HB 2932 -3, -4, -5 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

# **House Committee On Judiciary**

**Prepared By:** Gillian Fischer, Counsel **Meeting Dates:** 1/27, 2/24

# WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Requires law enforcement units to report on use or threat of physical force and forward report to the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission. Directs Oregon Criminal Justice Commission to establish statewide database of reports of use of physical force by peace officers and corrections officers. Requires commission to report annually to appropriate committee or interim committee of Legislative Assembly on reports.

### **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

# **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

-3 Replaces the measure. Requires law enforcement units, excluding corrections officers, to report on use or threat of physical force and forward report to the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission as soon as practicable, but no later than 72 hours after the use of force or death in custody. Directs Oregon Criminal Justice Commission to establish statewide database of reports of use of physical force by peace officers and corrections officers. Requires commission to report annually to appropriate committee or interim committee of Legislative Assembly on reports.

-4 States that the term law enforcement unit does not include a tribal government and the term Peace officer does not include an authorized tribal police officer.

-5 Replaces the measure. Requires law enforcement units, excluding corrections officers, to report only on the use physical force and forward report to the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission as soon as practicable, but no later than 72 hours after the use of force or death in custody. Directs Oregon Criminal Justice Commission to establish statewide database of reports of use of physical force by peace officers and corrections officers. Requires commission to report annually to appropriate committee or interim committee of Legislative Assembly on reports.

# **BACKGROUND:**

Current reporting requirements relating to use of force by law enforcement is limited to cases involving the use of deadly physical force by officers.

HB 2932 would require law enforcement agencies to provide information describing the circumstances and individuals involved when a peace officer or corrections officer uses any type of force or threatens to use physical force against an individual.