Social Work Licensing in Oregon

Oregon Board of Licensed Social Workers

February 2021

Randy Harnisch, Executive Director BLSW

The mission of the Board of Licensed Social Workers is to "protect the citizens of Oregon through the licensing and regulation of social workers."

Total Licensed Social Workers

- Registered Baccalaureate Social Worker RBSW
 - ~40 RBSW licensees
- Licensed Master Social Worker LMSW
 - ~320 LMSW licensees
- Clinical Social Worker Associate CSWA
 - ~1450 CSWA licensees
- Licensed Clinical Social Worker LCSW
 - ~5200 LCSW licensees

Social Work Licensing Requirements

Education

 Master of Social Work or Bachelor of Social Work degree from a Council of Social Work Education accredited school

Experience

- For clinical licenses, a period of supervised employment
- Passing score on national exam

Safety

Background check

Two mandatory and two optional licenses

- CSWA or LCSW required to practice clinical social work in Oregon
- Either license gives licensee the authority to use the professional title "Social Worker"
- RBSW and LMSW are optional, but do not give the licensee the ability to practice clinical social work.
- Either license gives the licensee the authority to use the professional title "Social Worker"

Licensing Process – Application Requirements

- 1) A Master of Social Work degree (CSWA, LMSW, LCSW) or Bachelor of Social Work degree (RBSW)
- 2) Passing score on appropriate national exam
- 3) Passing score on the BLSW Rules and Laws exam
- 4) For CSWA, an approved plan of supervision or a completed plan of supervision
- 5) Background check
- 6) Fees

Plan of Supervision - Approval

- Approved supervisor must have clinical license, at least 2 years experience, recent Oregon rules/laws exam and specific supervision training
- Appropriate work site must occur at an "agency"
- Regular supervision meetings must occur at least 2 times per month, each meeting for at least an hour
- Regular status reporting status reports must be submitted every six months

Plan of Supervision - Completion

- CSWA must work under an approved Plan of Supervision for at least 2 years
- CSWA must accrue at least 3500 work experience hours that are social work-related
- Of the 3500 total work experience hours, at least 2000 must be "direct client" clinical social work
- CSWA must accrue at least 100 hours meeting with the supervisor

National Examination – Administered by Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB)

- RBSW must pass Association of Social Work Boards (ASWB) Bachelor-level exam
- LMSW must pass ASWB Master-level exam
- LCSW must pass ASWB Clinical-level exam
- CSWA must work under an approved plan for at least 2 years (ASWB requirement) and have completed at least 75 hours of the required 100 hours supervision meetings to be approved to take the LCSW exam

Initial License and Renewal Fees

- RBSW Initial License \$150 for two years
 - Renewal \$110 for two years
- LMSW Initial License \$200 for two years
 - Renewal \$220 for two years
- CSWA Initial License \$260 for one year
 - Renewal \$66 for one year
- LCSW Initial License \$460 for two years
 - Renewal \$286 for two years

Contact the Board of Licensed Social Workers

It is the duty of government to make it difficult for people to do wrong, easy to do right.

William E. Gladstone

Email:

Oregon.blsw@Oregon.gov

Randy.harnisch@Oregon.gov

Phone:

(503) 378-5735 or (503) 373-1163

Website:

www.oregon.gov/BLSW/Pages/index.aspx