

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Regarding: Review of Executive Appointments

Date: September 21, 2022

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

SUSTAINABILITY BOARD

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Sustainability Board, subject to Senate confirmation:

New Appointment

Autumn Wilburn of Enterprise

Term

09-28-2022 - 12-31-2025

Statutory Authority

ORS 184.427 (2021).

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The board consists of the Governor or the Governor's representative (FAGAN) and 10 appointees who are state residents, sought from all geographic regions of the state and from communities that have demonstrated an ability to work collaboratively with people of diverse interests, including individuals with experience in business, small business, natural resources, community health, economics, sustainability, and conservation of natural resources (BURKHOLDER, DIETRICH, GAINES, GOOTEE, GREMMELS, HOLLINGSWORTH, MILLER, SCHMICK, WILBURN and VACANT).

Appointees serve four-year terms, are eligible for reappointment, and subject to removal if they cease to meet appointment criteria during their term of service. The Governor or designee acts as chair and the board selects its vice chair. A majority constitutes a quorum and they meet at least once every three months.

Duties⁴

The board encourages activities that best sustain, protect and enhance the environment, economy and community for the present and future benefit of Oregonians. Its duties include:

 identifying, recommending and proposing legislation for regulatory changes or policy modifications to agencies, the Governor, the Legislative Assembly, private entities, or other bodies consistent with sustainability goals;

¹ Or. Const. art. III, §4; ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2021).

² ORS 244.050 (2021).

³ ORS 184.427 (2021); see also ORS 182.100 (2021) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2021) for diversity criteria.

⁴ The Oregon Sustainability Act defines sustainability as "developing and protecting resources in a manner that enables people to meet current needs and provides that future generations can also meet future needs, from the joint perspective of environmental, economic, and community objectives" and establishes statewide sustainability goals. ORS 184.421 to 184.423 and 184.429 to 184.435 (2021); Department of Administrative Services website, Oregon Sustainability Board, https://www.oregon.gov/das/Facilities/Pages/Sustainability-board.aspx (last visited August 3, 2020).

- developing and promoting policies and programs to achieve sustainability goals;
- submitting biennial reports to the Legislative Assembly on the board's activities and recommendations;
- consulting with and soliciting comment from trade associations, organizations, businesses, and other groups and individual stakeholders;
- developing and promoting proposals that jointly and mutually enhance local economies, the environment and community health for the present and future benefit of Oregonians; and
- administering the Sustainability Board Fund.

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Sustainability Board

Agency: Department of Administrative Services

Authorization: ORS 184.427 Members: Min: 11 Max: 11

Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes Policy Area: Natural Resources

Board Contact: Dave Wortman

Department of Administrative

Services

1225 Ferry St. SE, U100 Salem, OR 97301 971-304-8733

David.WORTMAN@oregon.gov Elaine.G.SCHACHER@oregon.gov

Current Appointments:

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Rex B Burkholder

Term(s): 03-01-2019 - 12-31-2022 Position Number: 3

Serena S Dietrich

01-01-2016 - 12-31-2019 Term(s):

10-01-2015 - 12-31-2015

Position Number: 7

Shemia Fagan, Chair

Term(s):

Position Number: 1

Lisa J Gaines, PhD

Term(s): 01-01-2018 - 12-31-2021

09-26-2016 - 12-31-2017

Position Number: 6

Roje S Gootee

Term(s): 01-01-2017 - 12-31-2020

06-05-2013 - 12-31-2016

Position Number: 2

David L Gremmels **Business**

Term(s): 01-01-2016 - 12-31-2019

06-01-2012 - 12-31-2015

Position Number: 4

Position Number: 11

Lori L Hollingsworth

Business

01-01-2016 - 12-31-2019 Term(s):

06-01-2012 - 12-31-2015

Printed Date: 8/23/2022 Page 1 of 2

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Policy Area: Natural Resources

Sustainability Board

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

John D Miller
Sustainability Position Number: 10

Term(s): 07-02-2011 - 12-31-2014

10-01-2008 - 07-01-2011

Rory C Schmick

Natural Resources Position Number: 5

Term(s): 01-01-2019 - 12-31-2022

09-19-2014 - 12-31-2018

Autumn Wilburn

Position Number: 8

Term(s): 09-28-2022 - 12-31-2025

Vacant Appointments:

Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
9	Mark D Nystrom	Governor	01/01/2016	12/31/2019
9	Mark D Nystrom	Governor	10/01/2015	12/31/2015
9	Alando L Simpson	Governor	01/01/2012	12/31/2015
9	Sustainability Alando L Simpson Sustainability	Governor	12/01/2011	12/31/2011
9	Annabelle E Jaramillo	Governor	07/01/2008	01/01/2011
9	Sustainability Annabelle E Jaramillo Local Government	Governor	03/01/2006	02/28/2010

Printed Date: 8/23/2022 Page 2 of 2