

Memorandum

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate Regarding: Review of Executive Appointments Date: September 21, 2022

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

TRUST FOR CULTURAL DEVELOPMENT BOARD

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Trust for Cultural Development Board, subject to Senate confirmation:¹

New Appointment

Deb Schallert of Portland

Term 09-28-2022 – 10-31-2022 11-01-2022 – 10-31-2026

Statutory Authority

ORS 359.410 (2021).

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Composition³

The board consists of 13 appointees, 11 of which are gubernatorial, reflecting Oregon's geographic and cultural diversity and each appointee's commitment to the state's culture as demonstrated by their respective backgrounds (ANDRIES, JOHNSON, JONES-CENTENO, KRAMER, MORALES, MURPHY, PRICE, **SCHALLERT**, VAN DYKE, YAMASAKI and VACANT).

The Speaker of the House of Representatives and the President of the Senate each also appoint a legislator to be a nonvoting advisory member (LIVELY and HANSELL, respectively).

Members serve four-year terms. The board selects its chair and vice chair from among voting members; a majority constitutes a quorum; and it meets at least once every three months.

Duties⁴

The board oversees management of the Trust for Cultural Development Account and provides direction to the Oregon Business Development Department with respect to its administration of the Arts Program and its use of funds. The board is also the custodian of any property received as trustee for the state.

¹ Or. Const. art. III, §4; ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2021).

² ORS 244.050 (2021).

³ ORS 359.410 and 359.413 (2021).; and see ORS 182.100 (2021) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2021) for diversity criteria.

⁴ ORS 359.416 to 359.423 (2021).

Trust for	Cultural Development Board			
	nsumer & Business Services	Policy Area: Arts and Culture		
	n: ORS 359.410			
Members: Min: 13 Max: 13 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes		Board Contact: Brian Rogers		
			775 Summer Street NE, Suite 200 Salem, OR 97301-1280	
				hrian ragara@aragan gav
		brian.rogers@oregon.gov aili.schreiner@oregon.gov		
	ointments:			
Member Nar Sean P And	ne and Address (Alphabetical)			
		Position Number: 2		
Term(s):	03-01-2021 - 10-31-2023			
Brook Colley	1			
Torm(a):	11-01-2022 - 10-31-2026	Position Number: 4		
Term(s):	09-28-2022 - 10-31-2022			
	05 20 2022 10 51 2022			
Brook Colley	/	Position Number: 4		
Term(s):	11-01-2022 - 10-31-2026			
()	09-28-2022 - 10-31-2022			
Bill Hansell	ident's Appointment	Desition Number C		
Term(s):	ident's Appointment	Position Number: 6		
reini(s).				
Nathalie G J	ohnson	Position Number: 11		
Term(s):	11-01-2021 - 10-31-2025			
X - 7	11-01-2017 - 10-31-2021			
	03-01-2014 - 10-31-2017			
Bereniece J	03-01-2014 - 10-31-2017 ones-Centeno			
	ones-Centeno	Position Number: 10		
Bereniece J Term(s):	ones-Centeno 11-01-2020 - 10-31-2024	Position Number: 10		
	ones-Centeno	Position Number: 10		
	ones-Centeno 11-01-2020 - 10-31-2024 12-19-2016 - 10-31-2020	Position Number: 10 Position Number: 1		
Term(s):	ones-Centeno 11-01-2020 - 10-31-2024 12-19-2016 - 10-31-2020			

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Member Na	me and Address (Alphabetical)	Policy Area: Arts and Culture	
Gustavo Mo Term(s):	orales 11-01-2019 - 10-31-2023 02-17-2016 - 10-31-2019	Position Number: 12	
Myong-Hui	B Murphy	Position Number: 9	
Term(s):	03-01-2021 - 10-31-2024	Position Number. 9	
Niki Price		Desition Number: 12	
Term(s):	11-01-2019 - 10-31-2023 02-17-2016 - 10-31-2019	Position Number: 13	
Deborah S	Schallert	Position Number: 8	
Term(s):	11-01-2022 - 10-31-2026 09-28-2022 - 10-31-2022	Position Number. 6	
Deborah S	Schallert		
Term(s):	11-01-2022 - 10-31-2026 09-28-2022 - 10-31-2022	Position Number: 8	
Chris Van Dyke		Position Number: 5	
Term(s):	11-01-2021 - 10-31-2025 11-01-2017 - 10-31-2021 11-22-2013 - 10-31-2017	Position Number. 5	
Gayle S Ya	masaki	Position Number: 3	
Term(s):	11-01-2021 - 10-31-2025 11-01-2017 - 10-31-2021 12-12-2014 - 10-31-2017		