

# **M**EMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Regarding: Review of Executive Appointments

Date: September 21, 2022

PRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

#### **OREGON STATE HOSPITAL ADVISORY BOARD**

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Oregon State Hospital Advisory Board, subject to Senate confirmation:1

### **New Appointment**

George Valencia of Eugene

#### Term

09-28-2022 - 06-30-2026

### **Statutory Authority**

ORS 179.560 (2021).

### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Not required.

#### **Composition**<sup>3</sup>

The board consists of 16 appointees, 14 of which are gubernatorial:

- three individuals who advocate for or represent individuals with mental illness (FERREIRA, SHEARN and VALENCIA);
- three health care professionals experienced working with individuals with mental illness (KING, MOLLER AND READ):
- two who are or have been consumers of mental health services, including one former patient of the Oregon State Hospital (HASKINS and RUGGLES);
- one family member of a consumer of mental health services (WROLSTAD);
- two representing the general public who live in the vicinity of the Oregon State Hospital (VACANT and VACANT);
- three nonvoting participants in a public employee bargaining unit who are employed by the Oregon State Hospital, one each representing board-certified physicians (VACANT), board-certified nursing staff (VACANT), and direct care services (THOMA);
- one nonvoting appointee of the President of the Senate (LIEBER); and
- one nonvoting appointee of the Speaker of the House of Representatives (PRUSAK).

Gubernatorial appointees serve four-year terms; legislators serve two. The Governor selects a chair and vice chair from among voting appointees. Voting appointees are also prohibited from having any individual or fiduciary financial interest in the Oregon State Hospital.

Or. Const. art. III, §4; ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 179.560; see also ORS 182.100 (2021) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2021) for diversity criteria.

#### **Duties**<sup>4</sup>

The board periodically conducts a comprehensive review of federal and state laws, and administrative rules, policies, procedures and protocols of the Oregon State Hospital related to the safety, security, and care of patients and reports its findings. Its duties include:

- reporting annually to the Legislative Assembly regarding the hospital's activities;
- making recommendations directly to the superintendent of the Oregon State Hospital, the director of the Oregon Health Authority, and the Legislative Assembly on any matter related to the patient safety, security and care;
- advising on performance measures;
- recommending improvements; and
- advising on legislative proposals and budget packages.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 179.570 and 179.580 (2021).

#### **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

### **Hospital Advisory Board, Oregon State**

Agency: Department of Human Services

Authorization: ORS 179.560

Members: Min: 16 Max: 16

Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2

Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Health

Board Contact:
Dolly Matteucci
Oregon State Hospital
2600 Center Street NE
Salem, OR 97301
503-945-2850
Fax: 503-945-0985

dolores.matteucci@state.or.us jacee.m.vangestel@state.or.us

#### **Current Appointments:**

#### Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Joshua L Ferreira

Health Care Professional Position Number: 3

Term(s): 11-25-2019 - 06-30-2023

Isaac L Haskins

Consumer Position Number: 8

Term(s): 10-01-2020 - 06-30-2024

Alice M King

Health Care Professional Position Number: 6

Term(s): 07-01-2020 - 06-30-2024 02-14-2020 - 06-30-2020

Kate Lieber

Senate President's Appointment Position Number: 14

Term(s):

Cary D Moller

Health Care Professional Position Number: 5

Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023

Rachel Prusak

House Speaker's Appointment Position Number: 15

Term(s):

Halley E Read

Health Care Professional Position Number: 4

Term(s): 09-23-2019 - 06-30-2023

Paul J Ruggles

Consumer Position Number: 7

Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023

09-28-2018 - 06-30-2019

Printed Date: 8/23/2022 Page 1 of 3

## **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

Policy Area: Health

#### **Hospital Advisory Board, Oregon State**

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Javonnie D Shearn

Advocate Position Number: 2

Term(s): 07-01-2021 - 06-30-2025 07-01-2017 - 06-30-2021

06-01-2017 - 06-30-2017

Kim Thoma

Public Employee (non-voting) Position Number: 12

Term(s): 07-01-2020 - 06-30-2024

09-23-2019 - 06-30-2020

George Valencia

Advocate Position Number: 1

Term(s): 09-28-2022 - 06-30-2026

Kimberly A Wrolstad

Family Member Position Number: 9

Term(s): 07-01-2019 - 06-30-2023 07-01-2015 - 06-30-2019

Printed Date: 8/23/2022 Page 2 of 3

## **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

## **Hospital Advisory Board, Oregon State**

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical) Policy Area: Health

#### **Vacant Appointments:**

Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
10	Justin C Ottman	Governor	07/01/2018	06/30/2022
	Public Member			
10	Justin C Ottman	Governor	09/19/2014	06/30/2018
4.0	Public Member		10/04/0000	07/04/0040
10	Bruce R Rogers	Governor	10/01/2009	07/01/2013
_	CHAIR - Public member			
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
11	Mary L San Blise	Governor	05/25/2018	06/30/2019
14	AFSCME Membership	Carrage	07/04/2045	00/20/2040
11	Douglas W Smith	Governor	07/01/2015	06/30/2019
11	AFSCME - RN, Oregon State Hospital (no Frank E Warner, Jr	Governor	07/02/2010	07/01/2014
''	Public employee (non-voting)	Governor	0110212010	0770172014
11	Frank E Warner, Jr	Governor	10/01/2009	07/01/2010
	Public employee (non-voting)			
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
13	Robert C Stone, DO	Governor	07/01/2017	06/30/2021
	Public employee (non-voting)			
13	Robert C Stone, DO	Governor	03/15/2017	06/30/2017
	Public employee (non-voting)			
13	Steven E Fritz	Governor	07/01/2013	06/30/2017
	Public Employee (non-voting)			
13	Kay M Reichlin	Governor	06/01/2010	07/01/2012
<u></u>	Public Employee (non-voting)			
Pos	Member	Appointed By	Term Begin	Term End
16	Mary L San Blise	Governor	07/01/2019	06/30/2023
	Public Member			
16	Janet L Carlson, PhD	Governor	12/19/2016	06/30/2020
10	Public Member	Covernor	07/04/2042	06/20/2046
16	Paige E Clarkson Public Member	Governor	07/01/2012	06/30/2016
16	Public Member Paige E Clarkson	Governor	03/01/2012	06/30/2012
'0	Public Member	GOVERNO	03/01/2012	00/30/2012
16	Debra Orman McHugh	Governor	03/01/2009	07/01/2012
	Public Member	· - · · · · · ·	30.0 = 000	27.323.2

Printed Date: 8/23/2022 Page 3 of 3