

# **Memorandum**

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate Regarding: Review of Executive Appointments Date: September 21, 2022

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

## **OREGON CRIMINAL JUSTICE COMMISSION**

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Oregon Criminal Justice Commission, subject to Senate confirmation:<sup>1</sup>

#### **New Appointments**

Timothy Freeman of Roseburg Paul Solomon of Eugene **Term** 09-28-2022 – 02-17-2024 09-28-2022 – 02-17-2024

#### **Statutory Authority**

ORS 137.654 (2021)

#### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Not required.

### **Composition**<sup>3</sup>

The commission consists of nine members, including:

- seven gubernatorial appointees, one of whom is appointed as the chair (AUXIER (D), BEACH (N/A), BOVETT (N/A), BROOKS (D, Chair), FREEMAN (R), KAMPFE (D) and SOLOMON (D));
- one nonvoting state Senator appointed by the President of the Senate (PROZANSKI); and
- one nonvoting state Representative appointed by the Speaker of the House of Representatives (STARK).

Members serve four years at the pleasure of their appointing authority (or until the end of a legislative member's legislative term, whichever occurs first). They are eligible for reappointment but are limited to two consecutive terms, and no more than four of the Governor's appointees may belong to the same political party.

#### **Duties**<sup>4</sup>

The primary duty of the commission is to develop and maintain a criminal justice policy and a comprehensive, long-range plan for a coordinated criminal justice system encompassing public safety, offender accountability, crime reduction and prevention, and offender treatment and rehabilitation. Its duties include:

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Or. Const. art. III §4; ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2021).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 137.654 (2021); and see ORS 182.100 (2021) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2021) for diversity criteria.

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>4</sup> ORS 137.656 to 137.685 (2021).

- conducting joint studies by agreement with other state entities on any matter within its jurisdiction;
- serving as a clearinghouse for the collection, preparation, analysis and dissemination of information on sentencing practices and best practices for drug court programs;
- providing technical assistance and support to local public safety coordinating councils;
- receiving grant applications to start or expand drug court programs and making rules to govern the administration of grant programs and funds;
- preparing racial and ethnic impact statements for proposed legislation; and
- submitting proposed amendments to criminal sentencing guidelines for legislative consideration.

Criminal Justice Commission, Oregon Agency: Corrections Authorization: ORS 137.654 Members: Min: 9 Max: 9 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Senate confirmation required? Yes	Policy Area: Public Safety Board Contact: Ken Sanchagrin Criminal Justice Commission 885 Summer Street NE Salem, OR 97301 971-719-6000 Fax: 503-378-4861 ken.sanchagrin@oregon.gov
Jeff Auxier Democrat Term(s): 05-14-2021 - 05-13-2025	Position Number: 2
Jessica L Beach Not a member of a party Term(s): 12-13-2020 - 12-12-2024 09-28-2018 - 12-12-2020	Position Number: 6
Rob Bovett   Not a member of a party   Term(s): 04-20-2021 - 04-19-2025   04-20-2017 - 04-19-2021   09-19-2014 - 04-19-2017	Position Number: 5
Jerome A Brooks, Jr, Chair Democrat Term(s): 11-19-2021 - 11-18-2025	Position Number: 7
Timothy J Freeman Republican Term(s): 09-28-2022 - 02-17-2024	Position Number: 4
Jessica O Kampfe Democrat Term(s): 02-14-2018 - 02-13-2022	Position Number: 3
Floyd Prozanski, Senator Senate President's Appointment Term(s):	Position Number: 9
Paul J Solomon Democrat Term(s): 09-28-2022 - 02-17-2024	Position Number: 1

#### **Criminal Justice Commission, Oregon**

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Sebastian Tapia Democrat Term(s): 02-18-2020 - 02-17-2024 02-18-2016 - 02-17-2020 Policy Area: Public Safety

Position Number: 1