
 

Oregon Judicial Department 

Measure 110 
 

2021 Senate Bill 755-C codified and amended Ballot Measure 
110, which decriminalized most unlawful possession of a 
controlled substance (PCS) offenses.   
 

Reduction of Penalties 

Measure 110 reduced the penalties for most PCS offenses from 
a felony or misdemeanor to a new Class E violation, punishable 
with a $100 maximum fine.  Effective February 1, 2021, most 
PCS offenses are punishable only by a fine – no jail, supervision, 
or other criminal penalties can be imposed. 
 

History 

Measure 110 was approved by Oregon voters in the November 
2020 election and reduced penalties for most PCS offenses as 
of February 1, 2021.  The legislature passed SB 755-C, which 
took effect on July 19, 2021.  Major court-related changes in SB 
755-C include: 
• Allowing a person charged with a Class E violation to obtain 

a treatment needs screening or treatment contact within 45 
days of the citation, provide proof to the court, and have 
their case dismissed. 

• Requiring law enforcement to provide information on how 
to obtain a screening when issuing a citation for a Class E 
violation. 

• Establishing a $45 minimum fine. 
• Requiring all Class E violations to be filed in circuit courts. 
• Prohibiting penalties for failing to appear in court for a Class 

E violation.    

Class E Violations 
Through 8/31/2022 

 

Key Points 

• Filed in 33 circuit courts   

• 3169 cases with Class E 
violations  

• 88 cases for offenses 
before 2/1/21 

• 3081 cases for offenses 
on or after the 2/1/21 
effective date 

o 2504 with convictions 
(81%).  Of those, 1716 
failed to appear.  

o 245 with all Class E 
violation charges 
dismissed (8%) 

o 332 pending (11%) 

o 23 juvenile cases  

• 299 people have multiple 
cases with Class E 
violations. 

• Most Class E violations 
are for possession of 
methamphetamine (66%) 
or heroin (17%). 

• 201 (7%) were issued to 
non-Oregon residents 
from 21 states. 

Questions? 
Please contact Phil Lemman,  
Deputy State Court Administrator:  
Phillip.Lemman@ojd.state.or.us  
503-986-5745 

 

Measure 110 

Circuit Court Cases with Class E Violations by County 
For Offenses Between 2/1/21 and 8/31/22 
County Cases  County Cases  County Cases 
Baker 12  Harney 0  Morrow 6 
Benton 183  Hood River 46  Multnomah 248 
Clackamas 51  Jackson 281  Polk 58 
Clatsop 35  Jefferson 18  Sherman 3 
Columbia 11  Josephine 588  Tillamook 1 
Coos 100  Klamath 113  Umatilla 110 
Crook 38  Lake 10  Union 30 
Curry 11  Lane 173  Wallowa 1 
Deschutes 139  Lincoln 86  Wasco 25 
Douglas 284  Linn 109  Washington 48 
Gilliam 2  Malheur 19  Wheeler 0 
Grant 0  Marion 86  Yamhill 156 

 
As of 9/7/2022 
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Class E Violations in Oregon’s Circuit Courts   
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For Offenses between 2/1/21 and 8/31/22 

Data on demographic characteristics of 
people cited for Class E violations, the 
substance involved, and charges in 
addition to the Class E violation come from 
the law enforcement citation or district 
attorney charging document and are 
transferred into the official court record.    
 
This information is provided by court case, 
from cases filed in circuit courts.  A single 
court case can involve one or more Class E 
violations, or Class E violations and other 
charges.  If a person receives two separate 
citations for a Class E violation, they are 
counted as separate cases. 

 
 
 

Demographic Statistics  
for Cases with Class E Violations 
Gender   

Male 2288 74.3% 
Female 749 24.3% 
Not Available/Missing 44 1.4% 

Race   
Asian 15 0.5% 
Black 94 3.1% 
Indian 37 1.2% 
Multiracial 1 0.0% 
Native Hawaiian or  
Other Pacific Islander 5 0.2% 
Other 53 1.7% 
Unavailable 150 4.9% 
White 2422 78.6% 
Missing 304 9.9% 

Ethnicity   
Hispanic 126 4.1% 

Age at Time of Offense 
Juvenile 23 0.7% 
18-20 78 2.5% 
21-29 801 26.0% 
30-39 1222 39.7% 
40-49 598 19.4% 
50-59 259 8.4% 
60 + 86 2.8% 
Missing 14 0.5% 

 

*PCS – UNLAWFUL POSSESSION OF A CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE 

Most Frequent More Serious Offenses in  
Cases with Class E Violations 
Criminal Felony 

Unauthorized Use of a Vehicle  
Criminal Misdemeanor 

Driving Under the Influence of Intoxicants 
Violation 

Driving While Suspended or Revoked 
Driving Uninsured 
 

 

 

16% of cases with a Class E violation have other 
charges in the same case, most of which are 

other violations.  
  
 

3% of cases with a Class E violation have a 
felony or misdemeanor charge on the same 

case. 

As of 9/7/2022 


