Comparison of Paid Leave Oregon, the Oregon Family and Medical Leave Act (OFLA), the
Federal Family and Medical Leave Act (FMLA), and Oregon Paid Sick Time

Eligibility requirements

Paid Leave OFLA FMLA OR Paid Sick
Oregon Time
Employer size requirement n/a 25 or more 50 or more 10 or more
employees employees employees to
be paid (6 or
more in
Portland)
Required wages to be eligible | $1000 wages n/a n/a n/a
for leave in previous
year
Required time worked for n/a 180 days 12 months 90 days
employer before taking leave
Required hours worked for n/a 25 hrs/week 1,250 hours in 1 sick hour for
employer to be eligible for in previous previous 12 every 30 hours
leave 180 days months worked
Geographic requirement n/a n/a Location with n/a
50 employees
within 75 miles
Eligibility requirement
Not a requirement
Leave duration and benefit payments
Paid Leave OFLA FMLA OR Paid Sick
Oregon Time
Leave duration (for most 12 weeks in 12 weeks in 12 weeks in one- | 40 hours in one-
cases) one-year period | one-year year period year period
period
Maximum leave duration (for | 14 weeks in a 36 weeks in 2 weeks in aone- | n/a
certain combinations of leave | one-year period | one-year year period
types) period
Payment Paid Leave Unpaid Leave | Unpaid Leave Paid Leave

Benefit amount

Varies based on
employee’s
average weekly
wage. Up to
100% for lower-

income workers.

n/a

n/a

100% of regular
wages.




Qualifying purposes

Paid Leave OFLA FMLA OR Paid Sick
Oregon Time
Family Leave
Birth, adoption or foster Yes Yes Yes Yes
placement
Family member's serious Yes Yes Yes Yes
health condition
Medical Leave
Individual's own serious Yes Yes Yes Yes
health condition
Safe Leave
Domestic violence, sexual Yes No No Yes
assault, harassment or
stalking
Other leave types
Pregnancy disability leave* Yes Yes No No
*In addition to leave for
serious health condition
Sick child leave No Yes No No
Military family leave No Yes Yes No
Bereavement leave No Yes No Yes
Public Health Emergency No No No Yes

Covered
Not covered




