

# **M**EMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: October 27, 2021

By: Leslie Porter, Analyst

Re: Legislative Review of Executive

Appointments

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

## LAND CONSERVATION AND DEVELOPMENT COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individual to the Land Conservation and Development Commission subject to Senate confirmation.<sup>1</sup>

# **Appointees**

Barbara Boyer of McMinnville; New Appointment

### **Term**

November 19, 2021 - November 18, 2025

# **Appointment/Confirmation Authority**

ORS 197.030 (2019)

### Statement of Economic Interest<sup>2</sup>

Required.

# Statutory Requirements<sup>3</sup>

The commission consists of seven members appointed by the Governor and subject to confirmation by the Senate.<sup>4</sup> At least one member shall be or have been an elected city official in Oregon, and at least one member shall be an elected county official at the time of appointment. Members serve four-year terms and may be removed by the Governor for cause. The commission must select one of its members as chairperson and another member as vice chairperson.<sup>5</sup>

- One member must represent Clatsop, Columbia, Coos, Curry, Lincoln, and Tillamook Counties and those portions of Douglas and Lane Counties lying west of the summit of the Coast Range (JACOBSON).
- Two members must represent Clackamas, Multnomah, and Washington Counties (BOYER, HALLOVÁ).
- One member must represent Benton, Linn, Marion, Polk, and Yamhill Counties and that portion of Lane County lying east of the summit of the Coast Range (SANDOVAL).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>1</sup> Or. Const. art. III sect. 4, ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2019).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>2</sup> ORS 244.050 (2019).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>3</sup> ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

<sup>4</sup> ORS 197.030 (2019).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>5</sup> ORS 197.035 (2019).

- One member must represent Jackson and Josephine Counties and that portion of Douglas County lying east of the summit of the Coast Range (WARREN).
- One member must represent Baker, Crook, Deschutes, Gilliam, Grant, Harney, Hood River, Jefferson, Klamath, Lake, Malheur, Morrow, Sherman, Umatilla, Union, Wallowa, Wasco, and Wheeler Counties (LELACK).
- One member must represent Benton, Clackamas, Linn, Marion, Multnomah, Polk, Washington, and Yamhill Counties and that portion of Lane County lying east of the summit of the Coast Range (MCARTHUR).

# **Duties and Authority**

The commission adopts state land-use goals and implements rules, assures local plan compliance with the goals, coordinates state and local planning, and oversees the coastal zone management program.<sup>6</sup> The commission must:<sup>7</sup>

- direct the performance by the Director of the Department of Land Conservation and Development and the director's staff of their statutory functions;
- adopt rules that it considers necessary to carry out Oregon's land use conservation and development policies;
- cooperate with the appropriate agencies of the United States, this state and its political subdivisions, any other state, any interstate agency, and any person or groups of persons with respect to land conservation and development;
- appoint advisory committees as necessary to provide technical and other assistance;
- adopt, amend, and revise goals consistent with regional, county, and city concerns;
- prepare, collect, provide, or cause to be prepared, collected, or provided land use inventories;
- prepare statewide planning guidelines;
- review comprehensive plans for compliance with goals;
- coordinate planning efforts of state agencies to assure compliance with goals and compatibility with city and county comprehensive plans;
- ensure widespread citizen involvement and input in all phases of the process;
- review and recommend to the Legislative Assembly the designation of areas of critical state concern;
- report periodically to the Legislative Assembly; and
- review the land use planning responsibilities and authorities given to the state, regions, counties, and cities; review the resources available to each level of government; and make recommendations to the Legislative Assembly to improve the administration of the statewide land use program.

The commission may:8

 apply for and receive moneys from the federal government and from this state or any of its agencies or departments;

October 27, 2021 Page | 2

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>6</sup> Department of Land Conservation and Development, *Land Conservation and Development Commission*, <a href="https://www.oregon.gov/lcd/Commission/Pages/index.aspx">https://www.oregon.gov/lcd/Commission/Pages/index.aspx</a> (last visited November 19, 2020).
<sup>7</sup> ORS 197.040 (2019).

<sup>&</sup>lt;sup>8</sup> ORS 197.045 (2019).

- contract with any public agency for the performance of services or the exchange of employees or services as necessary;
- contract for the services of and consultation with professional persons or organizations not otherwise available through federal, state, and local governmental agencies as necessary;
- perform other functions required to carry out its statutory mission;
- assist in development and preparation of model land use regulations to guide state agencies, cities, counties, and special districts in implementing goals; and
- notwithstanding any other provision of law, review comprehensive plan and land use regulations related to the identification and designation of high-value farmland.

October 27, 2021 Page | 3

## **Executive Appointments Board Roster**

### **Land Conservation and Development Commission**

Agency: None

Authorization: ORS 197.030

Members: Min: 7 Max: 7

Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2

Senate confirmation required? Yes

Policy Area: Natural Resources

**Board Contact:** Esther Johnson

Dept. of Land Conservation and

Development

635 Capitol Street NE, Suite 150

Salem, OR 97301-2540

503-934-0045 Fax: 503-378-5518 esther.johnson@state.or.us

### **Current Appointments:**

#### Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)

Barbara Boyer

Metro Area (2b)

Term(s): 11-19-2021 - 11-18-2025

Position Number: 3

Anyeley D Hallova

Metro Area (2b)

Term(s): 03-01-2018 - 02-28-2022

Position Number: 1

Kaety R Jacobson

**Elected County Official** 

Term(s): 07-01-2020 - 05-31-2022

Position Number: 6

Nick Lelack

Eastern Oregon (2e)

Term(s): 07-01-2020 - 06-30-2024

Position Number: 2

Robin L McArthur

Metro Willamette Valley (2f)

Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022

06-01-2014 - 05-31-2018

Position Number: 4

Katie Pearmine

Metro Area (2b)

Term(s): 09-25-2017 - 09-24-2021

Position Number: 3

Gerard F Sandoval, PhD

Willamette Valley (2c)

Term(s): 12-01-2019 - 11-30-2023

Position Number: 5

Stuart S Warren

Southern Oregon (2d)

Term(s): 10-01-2020 - 09-30-2024 02-14-2020 - 09-30-2020

Position Number: 7

Printed Date: 10/25/2021 Page 1 of 1