

MEMORANDUM

Prepared for: Oregon State Senate

Date: October 27, 2021

- By: Leslie Porter, LPRO Analyst
- Re: Legislative Review of Executive Appointments

LPRO: LEGISLATIVE POLICY AND RESEARCH OFFICE

ALCOHOL AND DRUG POLICY COMMISSION

The Governor has appointed the following individuals to the Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission subject to Senate confirmation.¹

Appointees

Eric Martin of Portland; New Appointment Vanessa Nordyke of Salem; New Appointment Myque Obiero of Oregon City; New Appointment

Term

Martin: November 19, 2021 – November 18, 2025 Nordyke: November 19, 2021 – November 18, 2025 Obiero: November 19, 2021 – November 18, 2025

Appointment/Confirmation Authority

ORS 430.221 (2019)

Statement of Economic Interest²

Not required.

Statutory Requirements³

The commission consists of no more than 17 members appointed, as the Governor deems practicable, to ensure representation from stakeholders directly impacted by the work of the commission.⁴

At least 75 percent of the appointed members must be representatives of the following public health and health care stakeholder groups:

- county commissioners, managers, and administrators (MINTY MORRIS);
- Indian tribes (CRUZ);
- providers of addiction prevention and recovery services (ANDERSON, VEZINA, HOLTON, JORDAN);
- alcohol or drug treatment researchers or epidemiologists (OBIERO, NISSEN);

⁴ ORS 430.241 (2019).

¹ See <u>Or. Const. art. III sect. 4</u>, <u>ORS 171.562 and 171.565 (2019)</u>.

² See <u>ORS 244.050 (2019)</u>.

³ See ORS 182.100 (2019) for affirmative action policy and ORS 236.115 (2019) for diversity criteria.

- the health insurance industry or hospitals (ARCHER);
- consumers of addiction recovery services who are in recovery and the family members of consumers (GODVIN, MARTIN, VACANT);
- experts in addiction medicine;
- entities that provide housing to individuals who are in recovery (MAZZIOTTI); and
- social service providers.

Up to 25 percent of the appointed members must be representatives of one or more of the following stakeholder groups:

- district attorneys (CLARKSON);
- county sheriffs (NORDYKE);
- chiefs of police;
- criminal defense attorneys (GRIFFIN); and
- county community corrections agencies (GAOIRAN).

The President of the Senate appoints one nonvoting member of the Senate (MONNES ANDERSON).

The Speaker of the House appoints one nonvoting member of the House of Representatives (SOLLMAN).

The Chief Justice of the Supreme Court appoints one nonvoting judge of the circuit court (BLOCH).

Members serve four-year terms. The Governor appoints a Director and all gubernatorial appointees serve at the pleasure of the Governor. Non-legislative members are entitled to per diem.

Duties and Authority

The commission was created to improve the effectiveness and efficiency of state and local substance use disorder prevention, treatment, and recovery services for Oregonians.

The commission must develop, review, and update a comprehensive addiction, prevention, treatment and recovery plan for this state which must include, but is not limited to, recommendations regarding:⁵

- capacity, type and utilization of programs;
- methods to assess the effectiveness and performance of programs;
- the best use of existing programs;
- budget policy priorities for participating state agencies;
- standards for licensing programs;

⁵ ORS 430.223 (2019).

- minimum standards for contracting for, providing and coordinating alcohol and drug abuse prevention and treatment services among programs that use federal, private or state funds administered by the state; and
- the most effective and efficient use of participating state agency resources to support programs.

The commission may also conduct studies related to the duties of the commission in collaboration with other state agencies.⁶

⁶ Id.

Alcohol and Drug Policy Commission Agency: Oregon Health Authority Policy Area: Health Authorization: ORS 430.241; 430.242 **Board Contact:** Members: Min: 16 Max: 20 Term Length: 4 years Limit: 2 Reginald Richardson Senate confirmation required? Yes Salem, OR 97301 971-720-0532 reginald.richardson@state.or.us **Current Appointments:** Member Name and Address (Alphabetical) Brad Anderson, MD Position Number: 16 Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022 Jill Archer **CCO** Representative Position Number: 20 Term(s): 04-19-2021 - 04-18-2025 Eric J Bloch Circuit Court Judge; non-voting Position Number: 14 Term(s): Paige E Clarkson **District Attorney** Position Number: 1 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022 Term(s): Caroline M Cruz **Tribal Representative** Position Number: 4 Term(s): 12-17-2018 - 09-27-2022 Nate Gaoiran, Vice-Chair Director, Josephine County Corrections Position Number: 3 02-17-2020 - 02-16-2024 Term(s): 02-17-2016 - 02-16-2020 Patrick J Garrett Sheriff Position Number: 2 03-01-2016 - 02-29-2020 Term(s): 03-01-2012 - 02-29-2016 Morgan E Godvin Person Seeking Treatment Position Number: 11 02-14-2020 - 02-13-2024 Term(s): Kat Griffin **Defense Attorney** Position Number: 9 Term(s): 06-01-2018 - 05-31-2022

Executive Appointments Board Roster

Member Name and Address (Alphabetical)		Policy Area: Health	
Dwight C H Prevention Term(s):	lolton Representative 10-01-2017 - 09-30-2021 09-19-2014 - 09-30-2017	Position Number: 6	
	0, 1, 2011 0, 50 2017		
Anthony Jo	rdan, Chair	Position Number: 18	
Term(s):	11-17-2017 - 11-16-2021		
Eric A Mart	in	Position Number: 7	
Term(s):	11-19-2021 - 11-18-2025	Position Number. 7	
Donald F Mazziotti, JD		Position Number: 5	
Term(s):	09-26-2020 - 09-25-2024 09-26-2016 - 09-25-2020	Position Number: 5	
Kelley M Minty Morris County Commissioner		Position Number: 19	
Term(s):	10-01-2020 - 05-31-2022		
Laura B Nissen Prevention Representative		Position Number: 12	
Term(s):	09-28-2018 - 09-27-2022		
Vanessa Nordyke		Position Number: 2	
Term(s):	11-19-2021 - 11-18-2025	Position Number. 2	
Myque Obi	ero	Position Number: 8	
Term(s):	11-19-2021 - 11-18-2025		
Willie J Sha	affer		
Term(s):	09-26-2016 - 09-25-2020	Position Number: 7	
Janeen Sol House of R	llman epresentatives; non-voting	Position Number: 15	
Term(s):			
Tony J Vez	ina	Position Number: 10	
Term(s):	10-01-2020 - 02-28-2022		