# 2021 Eviction Protections



#### November 2021

COVID-19 continues to impact housing stability and affordability further revealing our longstanding housing crisis. The deep, ongoing need is demonstrated by the demand for Oregon's Emergency Rental Assistance Program. OHCS is committed to helping Oregonians stay in their homes and ensuring an equitable recovery for all. Below are tools and resources available to help protect Oregonians from eviction.

#### Apply for Rental Assistance

The Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program can help tenants with back rent, as well as up to three months of forward rent and assistance with utilities. Tenants can apply for the Oregon Emergency Rental Assistance Program online at <a href="OregonRentalAssistance.org">OregonRentalAssistance.org</a> or apply for rental assistance through your local community:

- Clackamas County Emergency Rental Assistance
- Emergency Rent Relief of Lane County
- Marion County emergency Rental Assistance
- Washington County Emergency Rental Assistance

#### Use Oregon's Safe Harbor Period

Under <u>SB 278</u> (2021) tenants who have applied for rental assistance through the <u>Oregon Emergency Rental</u> <u>Assistance Program</u> or other rental assistance programs like the ones listed above, but have not yet received assistance, enter a 60-day "safe harbor" period when they give proof of application to their landlord. This period is 90 days in Multnomah and unincorporated communities of Washington County. The safe harbor period begins once the letter is given to their landlord preventing eviction proceedings from moving forward.

### Extended Repayment Deadline (Rent Due April 2020 – June 2021)

With passage of <u>SB 282 (2021)</u>, the repayment period for residential rent arrearages accrued during the COVID-19 pandemic is extended until February 28th, 2022. Renters will not face eviction due to back rent owed between April 1, 2020 and June 30, 2021.

## Legal Aid

The Oregon Law Center's **Eviction Defense Project** is available to assist tenants who are in need of legal aid after receiving a court summons. Call 888-585-9638 or email at **evictiondefense@oregonlawcenter.org** to seek legal assistance.

#### 2-1-1

Tenants can apply individually for past, current, and future rent assistance by calling 2-1-1, visiting www.211info.org, or going to <a href="https://www.oregonrentalassistance.org">www.oregonrentalassistance.org</a>. 2-1-1 can also provide information on resources for utility bills, legal aid, and other local sources of assistance.