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DIRECT APPEAL

• What: An appeal is a process for correcting any legal errors that 

harmed a person’s right to a fair trial or lawful sentence raised at the 

trial court level.

• For an issue to be considered by the Court of Appeals it must have 

been preserved properly on the trial court record by either the 

defendant or the state.

• Who may appeal: The defendant in a criminal case or the State. 



DIRECT APPEAL • Where: If the trial was conducted in a 
circuit court, then the appeal in almost 
all cases would be filed in the Court of 
Appeals

• When: Notice of appeal must be served 
and filed not later than 30 days after the 
judgment or order appealed from was 
entered in the register.



POST 
CONVICTION 
RELIEF 

• What: A Post-Conviction challenge is 
not limited to preserved objections 
to legal rulings made by the trial 
judge. 

• Statute requires that post conviction 
relief be granted by the court when, 
one or more of the following 
grounds is established by the 
petitioner:



POST 
CONVICTION 
RELIEF 

• (a) A substantial denial in the proceedings resulting in petitioner’s conviction, 
or in the appellate review thereof, of petitioner’s rights under the Constitution 
of the United States, or under the Constitution of the State of Oregon, or 
both, and which denial rendered the conviction void.

• (b) Lack of jurisdiction of the court to impose the judgment rendered upon 
petitioner’s conviction.

• (c) Sentence in excess of, or otherwise not in accordance with, the sentence 
authorized by law for the crime of which petitioner was convicted; or 
unconstitutionality of such sentence.

• (d) Unconstitutionality of the statute making criminal the acts for which 
petitioner was convicted.

ORS § 138.530

https://advance.lexis.com/api/document/collection/statutes-legislation/id/5812-B7D1-648C-8477-00000-00?cite=ORS%20%C2%A7%20138.530&context=1000516


POST 
CONVICTION 
RELIEF 

• Who may appeal: A defendant convicted in a criminal 
case.

• When: A petition must be filed within two years of the 
trial court judgment or the date an appeal is final in the 
Oregon appellate courts, unless the court on hearing a 
subsequent petition finds grounds for relief asserted 
which could not reasonably have been raised in the 
original or amended petition.

• Where: A Post-Conviction case is a trial-level case, it is 
filed in the circuit court where the underlying conviction 
was entered or in the county where petitioner is 
incarcerated..




