Senate Interim Committee on Redistricting House Interim Committee on Redistricting Oregon State Capitol 900 Court Street NE Salem, OR 97301

Dear Chair Kathleen Taylor, Co-Chair Andrea Salinas, Co-Chair Boshart Davis & Members of the Committees,

As varied and unique are the scenic wonders and natural bounty of Oregon, so too are the people and communities across our state. Creating congressional and legislative districts that reflect and build upon these varied interests is challenging but not impossible. As elected officials from Eastern and Southern Lane County, we believe that while the currently proposed legislative maps have positive elements, they do not adequately reflect our communities' interests and should more closely follow the statutory guidelines for redistricting in Oregon (ORS 188.010):

- We support and appreciate that the proposed maps provide the City of Springfield with a legislative district, HD 12. This builds off current precedent in the area and aligns with the statutory guidelines.
- We are concerned with the nesting proposals for the Senate District that would include HD 12:
 - Including any part of the City of Eugene with Eastern Lane County in a legislative district, House or Senate, dilutes the voice of the remaining cities, towns and communities, including but not limited to the cities of Springfield, Cottage Grove, Creswell, Lowell, Oakridge and Westfir, and communities in unincorporated areas of Eastern and Southern Lane County.
 - As communities of common interest that are connected by transportation links we believe that there are
 existing geographic and/or political boundaries that are better suited to create a Senate District that includes
 HD 12.
 - o North: Starting at the NW point of the City of Springfield, follow the McKenzie River east to the base of the Coburg Hills, follow the eastern side of the Coburg Hills, up the Mohawk Valley to the Lane County line.
 - West: Utilize Interstate 5 from the NW point of the City of Springfield south to the Goshen interchange.
 From there, follow a southwest line that skirts the Eugene UGB; includes Fox Hollow Rd, Dillard Rd, and the Lorane Valley; ends at the southern border of Lane County.
 - o South & East: Follow the Lane County line.
- Recognizing that the population requirement may be an issue, incorporating the City of Coburg into this configuration would align more strongly with the statutory guidelines than including any portion of Eugene.
- Why this configuration?
 - Highways 58 and 126 converge in Springfield, creating transportation links and common interests with the cities and communities in those valleys.
 - The cities, towns and communities encompassed by this proposed Senate District have similar interests, economies, and policy priorities. For example, Creswell and Cottage Grove orient more toward Springfield than Eugene. The same is true for those communities in the Mohawk and McKenzie valleys.

On behalf of our communities and the people we serve, we request that the House and Senate Interim Committees on Redistricting analyze our proposal and re-evaluate how best to meet the needs of our areas. We call upon the committees to ensure that we are provided with fair and equitable representation at the Oregon State Legislature.

Thank you,

oe Berney, Lane County Commissioner District 2 – Springfield

Heather Buch, Lane County Commissioner District 5 – East Lane County

Kevin Prociw, Council President City of Creswell

Jen 1 Pm

Jeff Growing, Mayor City of Cottage Grove

Don Bennett, Mayor City of Lowell

Kathy Holston, Mayor City of Oakridge Scan VanGordon, Mayor City of Springfield

Mulody Cornelius Melody Cornelius, Mayor City of Westfir