Lisa Gezelter, LPRO Analyst Matthew Perreault, LPRO Analyst Kristi Arrington, Committee Assistant



Members:

Rep. Teresa Alonso Leon, Chair Rep. Courtney Neron, Vice-Chair Rep. Suzanne Weber, Vice-Chair

Rep. Zach Hudson Rep. Mark Owens Rep. Jeff Reardon Rep. Ricki Ruiz Rep. David Brock Smith Rep. Janeen Sollman Rep. Boomer Wright

HOUSE INTERIM COMMITTEE ON EDUCATION

Oregon State Capitol 900 Court Street NE, Room 453, Salem, Oregon 97301 Phone: 503-986-1664

AGENDA

Revision 3 Posted: NOV 16 08:21 AM

TUESDAY

Date: November 16, 2021

Time: 2:30 P.M. Room: Remote D

All committee meetings are taking place remotely.

To view a live stream of the meeting:

https://olis.oregonlegislature.gov/liz/2021I1/Committees/HED/Overview

A viewing station is also available at the Capitol Building.

Times below reflect tentative start times for each item. Committee chairs may, at their discretion, reschedule or alter agendas to accommodate committee business.

Organizational Meeting

(2:35 pm) Adoption of Committee Rules

Informational Meeting

Invited testimony only

(2:40 pm) K-12 Update

Colt Gill, Director, Oregon Department of Education

(3:30 pm) College/University Reopening

Dan Larson, Vice Provost for Student Affairs, Oregon State University

Neil Woolf, Vice President of Enrollment Management and Student Affairs, Southern Oregon University

Lisa Avery, President, Linn-Benton Community College

Birgitte Ryslinge, President, Oregon Coast Community College

AGENDA (cont.) November 16, 2021

(4:00 pm) HB 2835 (Benefits Navigators) Update

Nicole Hindes, Director, Human Services Resource Center, Oregon State University Mike Walsh, Dean of Student Life, Portland State University Elizabeth Guzman Arroyo, Portland Community College Rosa Lopez, Lane Community College Adam Mennig, Chemeketa Community College

(4:30 pm) State Financial Aid Programs (OOG & OPG)

Juan Baez-Arevalo, Director, Office of Student Access and Completion, Higher Education Coordinating Commission

(4:40 pm) HB 2166 Implementation

Anthony Rosilez, Director, Teacher Standards and Practices Commission Alyssa Chatterjee, Director, Early Learning System Colt Gill, Director, Oregon Department of Education

Note change: Presenter names have been updated.

Unless otherwise noted on the agenda, testimony is only accepted by committees for bills or topics scheduled for a public hearing. See the Oregon Legislature's website for information on contacting individual legislators directly on bills or topics not scheduled for a public hearing.