

Open Government Impact Statement

80th Oregon Legislative Assembly 2020 Regular Session

Measure: HB 4005 - A

Only impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Prepared by: Cameron D. Miles Date: 2/19/2020

SUMMARY

Requires owner or possessor of firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock, in locked container or in gun room except in specified circumstances. Punishes violation by maximum of \$500 fine. If minor obtains unsecured firearm as result of violation, punishes by maximum of \$2,000 fine. Provides that person who does not secure firearm as required is strictly liable for injury to person or property within two years after violation. Specifies exceptions to liability.

Requires owner or possessor of firearm to secure firearm with trigger or cable lock or in locked container when transferring firearm under circumstances requiring criminal background check, except in specified circumstances. Punishes violation by maximum of \$500 fine. Provides that person who transfers firearm without securing firearm is strictly liable for injury to person or property within two years after violation. Specifies exceptions to liability.

Requires person to report loss or theft of firearm within 72 hours of time person knew or reasonably should have known of loss or theft. Punishes violation of requirement by maximum of \$1,000 fine.

Requires person transferring firearm to minor to directly supervise minor's use of firearm. Provides that person who does not supervise minor as required is strictly liable for injury to person or property caused by minor's use of firearm. Authorizes person to transfer supervisory duty and liability to another person. Specifies exceptions to supervision requirement and liability.

Directs Oregon Health Authority to specify by rule minimum specifications for trigger and cable locks and locked containers required by Act.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

NOTICE OF <u>NO OPEN GOVERNMENT IMPACT</u>