

900 COURT ST NE S101 SALEM, OREGON 97301-4065 (503) 986-1243 FAX: (503) 373-1043 www.oregonlegislature.gov/lc

Open Government Impact Statement

80th Oregon Legislative Assembly 2020 Regular Session

Measure: SB 1546

Only impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Prepared by: Cameron D. Miles

Date: 1/31/2020

SUMMARY

Specifies procedures for providing notice to defendant in charging instrument and at arraignment when conviction would result in firearm prohibition. Specifies procedures for proving nature of relationship between defendant and alleged victim for certain crimes. Directs court to make determination concerning relationship and enter order prohibiting defendant from possessing firearms. Directs court to provide determination and order to Department of State Police and county sheriff for entry into databases.

Shifts duty to receive complaints alleging law enforcement profiling from Law Enforcement Contacts Policy and Data Review Committee to Oregon Criminal Justice Commission.

Exempts from definition of "commercial motor vehicle" emergency vehicles operated by police officers.

Creates exception to 28-day time limit for detention of youth if request for waiver hearing is pending.

Permits youth to waive 10-day detention review hearings. Extends frequency of detention review hearings to 30 days if request for waiver hearing is pending. Permits youth to waive individual 30-day detention review hearing.

Declares venue of juvenile proceeding subject to waiver hearing to be county where alleged act was committed. Prohibits venue transfer unless court determines case may not be waived or state stipulates it will not request waiver.

Authorizes certain youth offenders who are less than 20 years of age to be admitted to youth correction facility.

NOTICE OF NO OPEN GOVERNMENT IMPACT