

1106 K Avenue, La Grande, OR 97850

(541) 786-8799

19 February 2020

Oregon House of Representatives 900 Court St NE Salem, OR 97301-4047

PROCLAMATION

Eastern Oregon Counties Association

WHEREAS, Eastern Oregon Counties Association (EOCA) represents 14 Oregon Counties and approximately 500,000 Citizens living productively on 2/3 of Oregon's land mass, and

WHEREAS, positions and opinions on both sides of Senate Bill 1530 have been made based upon partisan politics and philosophical positioning, rather than fact; and an ecological and economic study of the potential impacts of this legislation on each of the 36 Counties in Oregon has not been conducted, and

WHEREAS, with an emergency clause attached to this legislation, a rushed decision without an opportunity for the people of Oregon to speak is not how our great State should do business, and

WHEREAS, "carve outs" for particular sections of our economy reflect weak legislation and give the illusion of politics and favoritism rather than good policy, and

WHEREAS, Eastern Oregon Counties provide a wide range of critical services to its residents including health and human services, roads, parks, public safety, and some of the most productive and efficient agricultural and forested lands in Oregon; and

WHEREAS, SB1530 will directly impact Eastern Oregon Counties with significant increases in the costs to provide services through increased utility rates and increased costs in fuel, related to providing those critical services; and

WHEREAS, SB1530's impacts through increased utility and fuel costs will further burden the residents of Eastern Oregon Counties who are already burdened by the higher cost of living in our communities because of higher rents, increased costs to purchase a home, and additional tax burdens placed on them by the State of Oregon; and

WHEREAS, any benefits derived through SB 1530, many of which are in dispute, do not justify the penalties and costs imposed by the Bill, and

NOW THEREFORE,

The Eastern Oregon Counties Association PROCLAIMS:

EOCA is opposed to Senate Bill 1530 of the 80th Oregon Legislative Assembly, which will have punitive impacts on EOCA, and the citizens of Eastern Oregon.





Eastern Oregon Counties Association

1106 K Avenue, La Grande, OR 97850

(541) 786-8799

ma a. Stichols

Bruce Nichols Baker Co. Commissioner

m. Bu

Jerry Brummer Crook Co. Commissioner

Bill Harvev

Baker Co. Commissioner

Reian Jainey

Brian Barney Crook Co. Commissioner

LEB.

Mark Bennett Baker Co. Commissioner

Patty Adair Deschutes Co. Commissioner

Sam Palmer

Kelly Simmelink

Paul Anderes

Grant Co. Commissioner

Seth Crawford Crook Co. Judge

Seth and

Anthony DeBone Deschutes Co. Commissioner

Pete Runnels Harney Co. Judger

Mark Albertson Lake Co. Commissioner

Donna Bernage

Donna Beverage Union Co. Commissioner

Dan Joyce

Joan Bird

Malheur Co. Judge

Sherman Co. Commissioner

Scott Myers Grant Co. Judge

Patty Dourch

Patty Dorroh Harney Co. Commissioner

Harry Wilson

Larry Wilson Malheur Co. Commissioner

R. Mathew Scarfo Union Co. Commissioner



Jim Hamsher Grant Co. Commissioner

Wayne Fording Jefferson Co. Commissioner

John Shafer Umatilla Co. Commissioner

Todd Nash Wallowa Co. Commissioner

Union Co. Commissioner

Jefferson Co. Commissioner

Susan Roberts Wallowa Co. Commissioner

The following Commissioners, Judges, and Chairs have given their support of this proclamation, however, they do not currently have an electronic signature on file with the Eastern Oregon Counties Association.

Mae Huston Jefferson Co. Commissioner

Klamath Co. Commissioner

Derrick DeGroot

Don Russell

George Murdock

Umatilla Co. Commissioner

Melissa Lindsay Morrow Co. Commissioner

Bill Elfering Umatilla Co. Commissioner

Joe Dabulskis Morrow Co. Commissioner

Sherman Co. Judge

James Williams

Lake Co. Commissioner

John Hillock Wallowa Co. Commissioner

BAKER · CROOK · DESCHUTES · GRANT · HARNEY · JEFFERSON · KLAMATH · LAKE · MALHEUR · MORROW · SHERMAN · UMATILLA · UNION · WALLOWA