## VIA ELECTRONIC MAIL TO COMMITTEE ASSISTANT

(Kristi.arrington@oregonlegislature.gov)

The Honorable Chuck Riley
The Honorable Fred Girod
Senate Committee On General Government
and Emergency Preparedness
State Capitol
Salem, OR 97301

Re: Senate Bill 1562 (Letter of Support)

Chair Riley and Vice Chair Girod:

On behalf of Morrow County, I would to express my support of Senate Bill 1562.

Our county is within the jurisdictional area of the Lower Umatilla Basin Groundwater Management Area (LUBGWMA). I have participated in various capacities within the LUBGWMA Committee to assess data, generate data, attempt to better understand sources of nitrates, understand how nitrates move within our various and complex alluvial and shallow basalt aquifer systems, and how we can best remediate existing nitrate plumes and minimize recurrence of human caused nitrate loading in excess of safe drinking water standards. We have made great strides in minimizing immediate concerns to the general public regarding our LUBGWMA and we feel now is the time to memorialize a pathway to de-designation.

I watched closely during the 2019 Session when the Oregon Department of Agriculture, Oregon Department of Environmental Quality and various stakeholders supported POP 350, originally included in HB 5002. That package was critically important to agricultural, municipal, industrial and environmental interests in the Umatilla Basin as it would have provided funding to Oregon State University, through ODA to facilitate the development of an interagency team including ODA, DEQ, OHA, with technical support from agencies such as OWRD, to work with local stakeholders and interest groups to make forward progress on fixing and de-designating the LUBGWMA.

POP 350 was not formally opposed during the 2019 session but it did not receive funding. SB 1562 attempts to set up the same Task Force as the I support SB 1562. I appreciate the opportunity to submit this letter in support of SB 1562.

$\mathbf{r}$		$\mathbf{r}$		11
1 1/	n	N.	usse	
1 71	,,,,	- 1	11225	

Commissioner

**Morrow County**