#### **SCR 203** STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

## **Senate Committee On Rules**

**Prepared By:** Tyler Larson, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 2/10

# WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Recognizes Belinda Carroll, Sharon Gary-Smith, Justice Adrienne Nelson, and Andrea Paluso as Oregon Women of Achievement.

## **ISSUES DISCUSSED:**

### **EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:**

No amendment.

#### **BACKGROUND:**

In 1964, Governor Mark Hatfield established the Governor's Commission on the Status of Women to advise him of the needs and concerns of Oregon women. In 1983, Governor Victor Atiyeh gave the commission independent agency status, with a directive to continue its mission to strive for the implementation of programs and policies benefiting women. The Legislative Assembly established the Oregon Commission for Women in 1983. Comprised of 11 members, two from the Legislative Assembly and nine appointed by the Governor, the commission works for the implementation and establishment of economic, social, legal, and political equality for women and to maintain a continuing assessment of the issues and needs confronting women in Oregon.

Since 1985, the commission has recognized and honored 97 women who, through their works and lives, have significantly improved the lives of women in Oregon. The 2019 Oregon Women of Achivement honorees are Belinda Carroll, Sharon Gary-Smith, Justice Adrienne Nelson, and Andrea Paluso.

Senate Concurrent Resolution 203 recognizes Belinda Carroll, Sharon Gary-Smith, Justice Adrienne Nelson, and Andrea Paluso as Oregon Women of Achievement.