## **Oregon Council of Presidents**

















February 6, 2020

Senator Wagner Senate Education Committee 900 Court Street NE, Salem, OR 97301

Chair Wagner and Members of the Senate Education Committee,

We are writing to you today to express our enthusiastic support for SB 1539, which designates Oregon Institute of Technology as Oregon's Polytechnic University.

Each of our public universities plays an important and unique role in our state. By granting this designation to Oregon Tech, the Legislature will be acknowledging and affirming the unique and important role that Oregon Tech plays in Oregon. Additionally, while not immediately available, this type of designation can often be helpful to universities as they work to secure grants from the Federal government.

Oregon Tech is Oregon's only Polytechnic University and has a long tradition of partnering with industry and government to support focus areas of high demand for our state. Oregon Tech was founded on the principles of hands-on knowledge and delivers its students' excellent education that prepares them for the workforce jobs of the future. Oregon Tech is a model for connecting students to careers, with 97 percent of graduates securing employment opportunities or seeking graduate degrees within six months following graduation.

We ask you to vote yes on SB 1539 and designate Oregon Institute of Technology as Oregon's Polytechnic University. By proclaiming Oregon Tech as Oregon's Polytechnic University, you will be supporting the work of Oregon Tech to train the state's workforce and prepare students for high demand careers.

Thank you for your time and service to our state.

Sincerely,

President Nagi Naganathan
Oregon Institute of Technology

President Rex Fuller Western Oregon University

Les Jelle

President Ed Ray Oregon State University President Linda Schott Southern Oregon University

Luila Solvet

President Michael Schill University of Oregon

President Danny Jacobs

Danny Jacobs

Oregon Health and Sciences University

President Thomas A. Insko Eastern Oregon University

Interim President Stephen Percy
Portland State University