Jay Wilson Oregon Resident

February 4, 2020

Chair Representative Brad Witt House Natural Resources Committee 900 Court Street NE Salem, OR 97301

Subject: HB 4119 Imposes tsunami design standards for certain buildings and other structures.

Dear Chairman Witt and Vice Chairs Gorsek and Sprenger,

Just less than two weeks after the 320th anniversary of the 1700 Cascadia Subduction Zone M9.0 earthquake and tsunami I urge you and members of the Committee to vote no on HB 4119 and reconsider a more multi-agency approach that coordinates rules, standards and assistance to local coastal communities between the shared authorities and expertise of the following Oregon state agencies:

Department of Geology and Mineral Industries (DOGAMI)

- Delineating the tsunami inundation and evacuation zone Division of Building Codes (BCD)
- Adopting building standards for vertical evacuation for life safety situations Department of Land Conservation and Development (DLCD)
- Assisting local community land use and zoning decisions in the tsunami zone Oregon Emergency Management (OEM)
 - Assisting local community tsunami emergency and evacuation planning

During the 2019 session HB 3309 repealed the 1995 tsunami zone regulations and the Coastal Caucus employed a haphazard approach to achieve their quiet victory with no independent deliberation, and no advisement from the Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission (OSSPAC). In fact, a bill of this level of significance should be treated to robust hearings on Emergency Preparedness and Land Use Committees, as well as those pertaining to building standards, to ensure appropriate levels of consideration and debate to ensure public safety is integrated into community development.

Pursuing resilience means smarter development that helps foster coastal communities that will survive and more quickly recover from and beyond the expected M9 earthquake and tsunami.

Jong Wilson Respectfully,

Jay Wilson

Past Chair, Oregon Seismic Safety Policy Advisory Commission

Former Resilience Fellow, National Institute of Science and Technology