## **Senate Resolution 3**

Sponsored by Senator HANSELL

3

4

5 6

7

8

9

10

11

12 13

14 15

16

17

18

19

20 21

22

23

24

25

26 27

28

29 30

31

## **SUMMARY**

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure as introduced.

Commends University of Oregon Ducks women's basketball team for outstanding 2018-2019 season.

SENATE RESOLUTION
Whereas the 2018-2019 University of Oregon (UO) Ducks women's basketball te

Whereas the 2018-2019 University of Oregon (UO) Ducks women's basketball team had an outstanding regular season and won its second consecutive Pacific-12 (Pac-12) Conference regular season title; and

Whereas the Ducks earned a place in the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) tournament and defeated Portland State, Indiana and South Dakota State to advance to the Elite Eight; and

Whereas UO had lost in the NCAA Elite Eight in both the previous two seasons, so the 2018-2019 Ducks were on a mission to complete that "unfinished business"; and

Whereas on March 31, 2019, the Ducks defeated Mississippi State in a thrilling game to advance to the NCAA Final Four for the first time in program history; and

Whereas the Ducks lost their next game to Baylor, but they played with great courage and fighting spirit, earning the respect of basketball fans around the nation; and

Whereas the Ducks finished their season with a record of 33-5, matching the program record for wins in a season; and

Whereas head coach Kelly Graves was named the Pac-12 coach of the year by his fellow coaches; and

Whereas junior Sabrina Ionescu was a first team All-American, won her second consecutive Lieberman Award as the nation's best point guard and won both the Wooden Award and the Wade Trophy as national player of the year; and

Whereas junior Ruthy Hebard was an honorable mention All-American and a finalist for national power forward of the year; and

Whereas sophomore Satou Sabally was an honorable mention All-American and a finalist for national small forward of the year; and

Whereas Sabally, Hebard, Ionescu and senior guard Maite Cazorla were selected to the All-Pac-12 team, and sophomore forward Erin Boley earned Pac-12 honorable mention; and

Whereas Cazorla was selected in the second round of the Women's National Basketball Association draft; and

Whereas UO broke its single-game attendance record with a sellout crowd of 12,364 in a Civil War victory against Oregon State at Matthew Knight Arena; and

Whereas UO led the Pac-12 with an average attendance of 7,148 and was one of just eight teams

1	in the nation to average more than 7,000 fans per game; and
2	Whereas four UO student-athletes earned Pac-12 All-Academic honors; and
3	Whereas UO players and coaches exhibited outstanding character and sportsmanship on and off
4	the court all season, setting a fine example for young fans; and
5	Whereas the 2018-2019 UO women's basketball team thrilled Duck fans and the State of Oregon
6	with their outrageous skill, exciting play and historic run in the NCAA tournament; now, therefore,
7	Be It Resolved by the Senate of the State of Oregon:
8	That we, the members of the Senate of the Eightieth Legislative Assembly, commend the
9	exemplary achievements of the 2018-2019 University of Oregon women's basketball team. Go
10	Ducks!
11	