Senate Joint Resolution 20

Sponsored by Senator BEYER, Representatives WILDE, HERNANDEZ; Senators BURDICK, FAGAN, GELSER, GOLDEN, MONNES ANDERSON, RILEY, STEINER HAYWARD, Representatives FAHEY, MARSH, NOSSE, SANCHEZ (at the request of Tanner Austin)

SUMMARY

The following summary is not prepared by the sponsors of the measure and is not a part of the body thereof subject to consideration by the Legislative Assembly. It is an editor's brief statement of the essential features of the measure **as introduced.**

Proposes amendment to Oregon Constitution providing for same day voter registration. Refers proposed amendment to people for their approval or rejection at next regular general election.

1	JOINT RESOLUTION
2	Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

PARAGRAPH 1. Section 2, Article II of the Constitution of the State of Oregon, is amended to read:

- **Sec. 2.** Qualifications of electors. (1) Every citizen of the United States is entitled to vote in all elections not otherwise provided for by this Constitution if such citizen:
 - (a) Is 18 years of age or older;
- (b) Has resided in this state during the six months immediately preceding the election, except that provision may be made by law to permit a person who has resided in this state less than 30 days immediately preceding the election, but who is otherwise qualified under this subsection, to vote in the election for candidates for nomination or election for President or Vice President of the United States or elector of President and Vice President of the United States; and
- (c) [Is registered not less than 20 calendar days immediately preceding any election in the manner provided by law] Registers to vote on or before 8 p.m. on the date of the election in the manner provided by law.
- (2) Provision may be made by law to require that persons who vote upon questions of levying special taxes or issuing public bonds shall be taxpayers.

PARAGRAPH 2. The amendment proposed by this resolution shall be submitted to the people for their approval or rejection at the next regular general election held throughout this state.

21 22

3

5

6

7

8

9 10

11 12

13

14

15

16

17 18

19 20