Enrolled

Senate Joint Memorial 6

Sponsored by Senator THATCHER, Representatives POST, LIVELY

To the President of the United States and the Senate and the House of Representatives of the United States of America, in Congress assembled:

We, your memorialists, the Eightieth Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon, in legislative session assembled, respectfully represent as follows:

Whereas federal law currently prohibits a state from maintaining itself on daylight saving time the entire year; and

Whereas the Congress of the United States has the power through legislation to allow a state to maintain itself on daylight saving time the entire year; and

Whereas daylight saving time is already maintained for 239 days of the year; and

Whereas allowing a state to maintain itself on daylight saving time the entire year will not have adverse or harmful effects; and

Whereas not switching between standard time and daylight saving time twice a year will bring consistency and predictability in observing a consistent time throughout the calendar year; and

Whereas switching between standard time and daylight saving time twice a year has negative impacts on public health, increases traffic accidents and crime, disrupts agriculture scheduling and hinders economic growth; and

Whereas scientific studies have connected a number of health consequences with switching between standard time and daylight saving time, including greater risks of heart attacks, more frequent workplace injuries and increased suicide rates in the days immediately following the switch; and

Whereas not switching to standard time will place Oregon in agreement with the surrounding states that also want to maintain themselves on daylight saving time; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

- (1) The Congress of the United States is urged to allow states to maintain themselves on daylight saving time the entire year.
- (2) A copy of this memorial shall be sent to the Senate Majority Leader, to the Speaker of the House of Representatives and to each member of the Oregon Congressional Delegation.

Adopted by Senate April 2, 2019
Readopted by Senate June 12, 2019
Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate
Peter Courtney, President of Senate
A1 + 11 II I C 0010
Adopted by House June 6, 2019
Tina Kotek, Speaker of House