Enrolled

Senate Concurrent Resolution 22

Sponsored by Senator GELSER, Representatives CLEM, BOSHART DAVIS, RAYFIELD; Senators BOQUIST, COURTNEY, GIROD, KNOPP, ROBLAN, Representatives BOLES, EVANS, GOMBERG, NERON, SMITH G, SPRENGER

Whereas the 2018 Oregon State University (OSU) Beavers baseball team capped an outstanding regular season by winning the National Collegiate Athletic Association (NCAA) regional playoffs at Goss Stadium in Corvallis, Oregon; and

Whereas the Beavers then swept Minnesota in the NCAA Corvallis Super Regional; and

Whereas the playoff wins earned OSU their seventh trip to the College World Series (CWS) in Omaha, Nebraska, following trips in 1952, 2005, 2006, 2007, 2013 and 2017; and

Whereas the 2017 OSU team had lost in the CWS semifinals, so the Beavers returned to Omaha in 2018 on a mission, hoping to complete the "unfinished business" of the preceding season; and

Whereas a first-round loss to North Carolina put the Beavers' backs to the wall, forcing OSU to win consecutive elimination games against Washington, North Carolina and Mississippi State (twice) to survive and advance to the championship series to face Arkansas; and

Whereas OSU lost game one of the best-of-three championship series, putting the Beavers once again on the brink of elimination from the CWS; and

Whereas in game two of the championship series, the Beavers' hopes dangled by a thread, with OSU behind in the ninth inning with two outs and two strikes, down to what could have been the final pitch of the CWS; and

Whereas shortstop Cadyn Grenier delivered a clutch single to keep the Beavers alive, followed by a heroic home run from outfielder Trevor Larnach that led OSU to a dramatic and improbable come-from-behind victory; and

Whereas the Beavers then rode a brilliant pitching performance from freshman Kevin Abel to a shutout victory in the third and deciding game of the series on June 28, 2018; and

Whereas with the victory, the Beavers won their third NCAA baseball championship, following back-to-back titles in 2006 and 2007; and

Whereas catcher Adley Rutschman, whose hometown is Sherwood, Oregon, was named the CWS Most Outstanding Player, setting a CWS record with his 17 hits; and

Whereas Rutschman was joined on the CWS All-Tournament team by Abel, Larnach, Grenier and designated hitter Tyler Malone; and

Whereas six Beavers were selected in the 2018 Major League Baseball amateur draft: Larnach, Grenier and second baseman Nick Madrigal in the first round, outfielder Steven Kwan in the fifth round, pitcher Drew Rasmussen in the sixth round and third baseman Michael Gretler in the 10th round; and

Whereas head coach Pat Casey, whose hometown is Newberg, Oregon, was named national coach of the year in 2018, the fifth time he has won that honor; and

Whereas Casey announced his retirement as head coach following the 2018 season, ending his legendary 24-year stint leading the OSU baseball program and marking the beginning of a new administrative role for him in the OSU Athletic Department; and

Whereas an impressive number of the 2018 OSU baseball players and coaches hail from Oregon hometowns; and

Whereas for the second season in a row, 16 OSU student-athletes were selected to the Pac-12 Conference All-Academic baseball teams; and

Whereas OSU baseball players and coaches exhibited outstanding character and sportsmanship on and off the playing field all season; and

Whereas the never-say-die 2018 OSU baseball team thrilled Beaver Nation and the State of Oregon and earned the respect of fans around the country with their courage and fighting spirit, refusing again and again to be eliminated until they were finally crowned champions; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eightieth Legislative Assembly, commend the exemplary achievements of the NCAA Division I national baseball champions, the Oregon State University Beavers; and be it further

Resolved, That we congratulate Pat Casey on his remarkable career as head coach, recognize his service to Oregon State University and to the State of Oregon and wish him well in his future endeavors.

Adopted by Senate March 25, 2019

Lori L. Brocker, Secretary of Senate

Peter Courtney, President of Senate

Adopted by House April 17, 2019

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House