Enrolled

House Concurrent Resolution 2

Sponsored by Representative WILLIAMSON, Senator BURDICK; Representative DOHERTY (Presession filed.)

Whereas Abraham Lincoln High School was established as Portland High School in 1869, a decade after Oregon became a state, making it one of the oldest and most celebrated public secondary schools west of the Mississippi River; and

Whereas Lincoln High School is located in the Goose Hollow neighborhood of Portland and currently occupies its fourth building, with plans for the fifth campus well underway; and

Whereas Lincoln High School has always been a classic college preparatory high school and has graduated tens of thousands of students who have gone on to higher learning and successful lives; and

Whereas Lincoln High School has been nationally recognized as one of America's best public high schools based on its consistently high graduation rates, which are the best in Portland Public Schools, its large number of National Merit semifinalists and the high participation levels and test scores of students participating in the International Baccalaureate program; and

Whereas Lincoln High School has more than 60 faculty members who provide high-quality academic and extracurricular opportunities, including enhanced and advanced coursework in English, social sciences, mathematics, physical and life sciences and foreign languages, including the rigorous 12-year-long Spanish-language immersion program, which graduates approximately 30 completely fluent students every year; and

Whereas Lincoln High School's Constitution Team has won 20 state championships and six national titles, and the Speech and Debate Team and the Mock Trial Team compete nationally and have earned national distinction; and

Whereas Lincoln High School's student-athletes have served as role models for the Lincoln community to strive for excellence, winning 38 state championships, 23 of which were won by all-women teams; and

Whereas Lincoln High School's student newspaper, *The Cardinal Times*, was established in 1897 and is the oldest continuously published high school newspaper on the West Coast and has produced writers, essayists and thinkers who have gone on to have professional careers in journalism and communications; and

Whereas Lincoln High School's tri-yearly magazine, *Beyond the Flock*, and Oregon's first high school Spanish-language magazine, *puño & letra*, provide diversity and richness of writing and opinion; and

Whereas Lincoln High School has produced a long line of illustrious alumni, including Matt Groening, creator of "The Simpsons," Mel Blanc, the voice of Bugs Bunny, Signe Toly Anderson of the iconic rock band Jefferson Airplane, musician Nate Query of The Decemberists, singersongwriter Elliott Smith, Robert Mann, a founding member of the Juilliard String Quartet, baseball legends Johnny Pesky and Mickey Lolich, artist Mark Rothko and poet Gary Snyder; and

Whereas Lincoln High School hosts 77 student-led clubs and student unions, providing a platform for diversity and service throughout the Portland community, values that are further celebrated at Lincoln's annual Multicultural Assembly, run solely by student leaders and student organizations; and

Whereas Lincoln High School in 2016 became the first high school in Oregon and the fifth in the nation to set up a multistall gender-neutral bathroom, and Lincoln continues to dedicate itself to creating an open and welcoming community for all genders and sexualities; and Whereas Lincoln High School is devoting 2019 to an "L 150" celebration that is just, inclusive and participatory, carrying forward the "Cardinal Spirit" of our academic and civic heritage to inspire learning toward a more just and equitable world; now, therefore,

Be It Resolved by the Legislative Assembly of the State of Oregon:

That we, the members of the Eightieth Legislative Assembly, commemorate the 150th anniversary of Abraham Lincoln High School in Portland and congratulate its students, faculty and alumni on their countless achievements and legacy of public service and inspired global thinking for 150 years and into the future. Go Cardinals!

Adopted by House March 21, 2019

Readopted by House May 7, 2019

Timothy G. Sekerak, Chief Clerk of House

Tina Kotek, Speaker of House

Adopted by Senate May 2, 2019

Peter Courtney, President of Senate