

900 COURT ST NE S101 SALEM, OREGON 97301-4065 (503) 986-1243 FAX: (503) 373-1043 www.oregonlegislature.gov/lc

## **Open Government Impact Statement**

80th Oregon Legislative Assembly 2019 Regular Session

Measure: HB 2098 - B

Only impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Prepared by: Cameron D. Miles

Date: 5/21/2019

## **SUMMARY**

Directs Oregon Liquor Control Commission to establish advisory committee to advise commission, Oregon Health Authority and State Department of Agriculture on standards for testing marijuana. Allows pharmacist to dispense to patient certain prescription drugs that contain one or more cannabinoids. Specifies that marijuana does not include certain prescription drugs that contain one or more cannabinoids. Authorizes commission to establish pilot programs to expand access to marijuana for medical use to registry identification cardholders and designated primary caregivers. Clarifies that applicant for marijuana producer license is not required to demonstrate continual registration as person responsible for medical marijuana grow site in order to use exemption from requirement to obtain land use compatibility statement as condition of licensure. Defines "kief" and allows marijuana producer to produce and transfer kief. Prohibits person from producing, processing, transporting, delivering or selling marijuana item without valid license issued by commission. Exempts from prohibition on selling or delivering marijuana item to person under 21 years of age marijuana retailer authorized to sell or deliver marijuana items to registry identification cardholder who is at least 18 years of age. Directs commission to revoke marijuana retailer license if retailer fails to pay specified taxes or file specified returns.

Increases civil penalty for violation of laws related to recreational marijuana from \$5,000 to \$10,000 per violation.

Declares emergency, effective on passage.

## NOTICE OF NO OPEN GOVERNMENT IMPACT