HB 2964 A STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee On Education

Action Date: 05/15/19

Action: Do pass the A-Eng bill.

Vote: 5-0-0-0

Yeas: 5 - Gelser, Hass, Heard, Thomsen, Wagner

Fiscal: Has minimal fiscal impact

Revenue: No revenue impact

Prepared By: Tamara Dykeman, LPRO Analyst

Meeting Dates: 4/17, 5/15

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Directs the Oregon Department of Education (ODE) to create an Oregon Education Support Professional of the Year Program. Establishes qualifications for recipients. Requires ODE to collaborate with the Oregon State Lottery Commission to honor and recognize at least one education support professional who serves students in any grade from prekindergarten through grade 12. Authorizes the State Board of Education to adopt rules for the application process, the selection criteria, and any duties required of the recipient.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Oregon Teacher-of-the-Year Program
- Recognizing Inspiring School Employees (RISE) Award Program
- · Criteria for Oregon award
- Consistency with state and federal recognition programs
- Impact of educational support staff on students
- Importance of educational support staff to school operations
- Current Oregon recognition programs for educational support staff
- Other funding and support needs for educational support staff

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

In 1955, Oregon began recognizing outstanding teachers through the Oregon Teacher of the Year Program. Each year, ODE and the Oregon State Lottery Commission provide the recipient a \$5,000 award. In addition, the recipient's school receives a matching award of \$5,000. At this time, Oregon does not have a program to recognize education support professionals (ESPs). ESP positions include clerical services, custodial and maintenance services, food services, health and student services, paraeducators, security services, and transportation services. House Bill 2964 A creates an Oregon Education Support Professional of the Year Program to honor and recognize educational support staff who demonstrate excellence in their field.

Carrier: Sen. Wagner