FISCAL IMPACT OF PROPOSED LEGISLATION

80th Oregon Legislative Assembly – 2019 Regular Session Legislative Fiscal Office

Only Impacts on Original or Engrossed Versions are Considered Official

Measure: HB 3141 - A

Prepared by: Haylee Morse-Miller Reviewed by: Paul Siebert, Matt Stayner

Date: April 10, 2019

Measure Description:

Modifies and adds laws related to electric vehicle charging stations.

Government Unit(s) Affected:

Department of Administrative Services (DAS), Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS)

Summary of Fiscal Impact:

Costs related to the measure may require budgetary action - See analysis.

Analysis:

HB 3141 - A changes laws related to electrical vehicle charging stations.

The measure requires the Department of Consumer and Business Services (DCBS) to update the state building code; newly constructed multifamily residential buildings with three or more units will be required to provide 20 percent of parking spaces as electric vehicle (EV) charging stations. DCBS anticipates no fiscal impact as a result of this measure.

The Department of Administrative Services (DAS) is given the goals of providing 20 percent of parking spaces in newly-constructed public buildings as EV charging stations, and ensuring that 25 percent of certain vehicles in the state fleet are zero-emission vehicles by July 1, 2020. DAS is also directed to conduct a study and report to the Legislature on the costs and feasibility of implementing the California Innovative Clean Transit measure, which requires all public transit agencies to transition to zero-emission buses by 2040. The results of the study are to be reported to the Legislature no later than September 15, 2020. The measure allows DAS to contract with another entity or enter into cooperative procurement agreements to buy electric vehicles, charging stations, and electricity.

DAS estimates that the costs of implementing this measure could include:

- \$1,525,200 in 2019-21 to purchase zero-emission vehicles and install charging stations.
- \$1,875,600 in 2021-23 to make 20 percent of vehicle parking spaces at newly-constructed public buildings into charging stations.

Actual costs of implementation could vary widely from these estimates. The measure directs DAS to pursue a percentage of EV parking spaces and percent of zero-emission vehicles in the state fleet as a goal, not a mandate. Cost estimates are based on DAS fully meeting the goals outlined in the measure. Cost estimates do not include additional expenditures for electricity and management of charging stations.

The potential budget impacts of this measure require further consideration by the Joint Committee on Ways and Means.

Page 1 of 1 HB 3141 - A