HB 2449 B STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Senate Committee On Finance and Revenue

Prepared By: Jaime McGovern, Economist

Meeting Dates: 6/18, 6/19

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Increases taxes for emergency communications to \$1.25 per month or per transaction as appropriate, phased in over two years: \$1.00 in first year and \$1.25 in second year. Adjusts administrative and collection cost caps to Department of Revenue and Office of Emergency Management. Extends sunset from 2022 to 2030. Specifies that interest earned by the Emergency Communications Account must be credited to the 9-1-1 Subaccount.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Historic changes to public safety answering points (PSAPs).
- Historic changes to fees for emergency services
- Changes in technology.
- Ability to respond.
- Change in call volume.
- Dedicated allocation of funds.
- Budgeting process for PSAPs.

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

The three-digit telephone number 9-1-1 has been designated as the universal emergency number for citizens throughout the United States to request emergency assistance. It traces its origins to 1957, when the National Association of Fire Chiefs recommended usage of a single number for reporting fires; in 1967, the President's Commission on Law Enforcement and Administration of Justice recommended that a single number for reporting emergency situations was preferable to using different numbers for each type of emergency.

Currently the Emergency Communications Tax, commonly referred to as the 9-1-1 Tax in Oregon, is assessed at 75 cents per phone line or per device capable of reaching 9-1-1. The tax is collected quarterly by the Oregon Department of Revenue.