SB 248 STAFF MEASURE SUMMARY

Joint Committee On Ways and Means

Prepared By: Michelle Deister, Budget Analyst

Meeting Dates: 5/9, 5/17

WHAT THE MEASURE DOES:

Increases certain license, permit, and certificate fees assessed by the Oregon Liquor Control Commission. Establishes \$10 per day fee for temporary use of annual license. Declares emergency, effective July 1, 2019.

ISSUES DISCUSSED:

- Potential and possibility for a two year rather an annual license
- Length of time since a fee increase on licenses was last imposed
- Stakeholder input on the fee increase
- Investing fee revenue in service improvements to licensees

EFFECT OF AMENDMENT:

No amendment.

BACKGROUND:

The Oregon Liquor Control Commission is responsible for regulating the sale and service of alcoholic beverages in Oregon by administering the Oregon Liquor Control Act. Businesses that sell, manufacture, import, or distribute alcohol in Oregon must obtain a license, and employees who serve alcohol must obtain a service permit. Current statute establishes fees that must be paid when seeking to obtain or renew a license, permit, or certificate administered by the agency.

The measure increases 15 existing license, permit, and certification fees, and establishes a \$10 per day fee for the temporary use of an annual license.