

11300 SE Fuller Rd Milwaukie, Oregon 97222 (503) 780-4806 C800.0RG

May 1, 2019

Joint Committee on Ways and Means Subcommittee on Capital Construction 900 Court St. NE Salem, Oregon 97301

Dear Co-Chairs, Girod and Holvey and members of the Committee;

Clackamas 800 Radio Group is an ORS 190 organization comprised of all the public safety providers in Clackamas County to own and operate the public safety communication system serving the County. In 2016 the voters of Clackamas County approve a \$59Millon general obligation bond to expand and enhance this communication system. Part of this project includes 14 new sites many of which are within the Mt Hood National Forest and adjacent BLM land.

The ShakeAlert/AlertWildfire efforts are of key importance to all our partner agencies. Detection of earthquakes and wildfires assist in a prompt response by public safety-first responders and safes lives.

C800 urges the committee to support the \$12 Million capital investment to the University of Oregon for the Shake Alert and Wild Fire Alert Seismic Stations.

A number of our new communications sites as well as our existing sites can house this critical early warning equipment to support this program.

By investing in sensors for the ShakeAlert earthquake early warning, cameras for ALERTWildfire, and telemetry to allow real-time communication, the state will be advancing a multi-hazard approach to disaster response and mitigation.

Sincerely,

John Hartsock, Manager C800

C800 Partner Agencies

Clackamas Fire District #1 Deputy Chief Ryan Hari Chair C800

Canby Fire District Chief Jim Davis

Canby Police
Chief Bret Smith

Clackamas County Sheriff Sheriff Craig Roberts

Colton Fire Chief Richard Beaudoin

Estacada Fire District

Chief Jason Crowe
Gladstone Police
Chief Kim Yamashita

Gladstone Fire Chief Tom O'Connor

Hoodland Fire District Chief John Ingrao

Lake Oswego Fire Chief Don Johnson

Lake Oswego Police Chief Dale Jorgenson

Milwaukie Police Chief Steve Bartol

Molalla Fire District

Molalla Police Chief Frank Schoenfeld

Oregon City Police Chief Jim Band

Sandy Fire District Chief Phil Schneider

Sandy Police Chief Ernie Roberts

TVF

Chief Mike Duyck

West Linn Police Chief Terry Kruger

Clackamas County Health Philip Mason

American Medical Response Ben Sorenson

Lake Oswego Communications / LOCOM Sue Scobert,