















To: Senate Education Committee

From: Oregon Council of Presidents

Re: House Bill 3280 (2019)

Date: April 29, 2019

Senate Bill 242 (2011) created the Higher Education Coordinating Commission (HECC). The bill was the product of a bi-partisan, bi-cameral legislative work group appointed by Senate President Peter Courtney and House Speaker Dave Hunt. The work group was advised by Dennis Jones of the National Center for Higher Education Management Systems (NCHEMS) and David Longanecker of the Western Interstate Commission on Higher Education (WICHE). Both individuals are highly-regarded, national experts on higher education. The HECC was established as a 15-member Commission with limited authority to coordinate higher education policy with community colleges and public universities. It was initially charged with completing studies on textbook affordability and credit for prior learning and had just one employee. In 2012, the Legislature expanded the HECC's authority to include licensing for career schools and development of achievement compacts (see House Bill 1538 (2012)).

In 2013, <u>Senate Bill 270</u> established governing boards at the University of Oregon and Portland State University and provided an option for other public universities to establish governing boards, which they ultimately did. After extensive negotiations, it was determined that the Governor appointed, Senate approved, governing boards would have 11-15 members that must include:

- One enrolled student as a voting member, and
- One faculty member and one non-faculty staff member who may be voting or non-voting at the Governor's discretion.

To date, the Governor has appointed faculty and non-faculty staff members to university governing boards as voting members.

During the same Session, the Legislature approved <u>House Bill 3120</u> which was crafted through a stakeholder process that included legislators, legislative staff, representatives of the Oregon Student Association, AFT Oregon, the Oregon University System, the State Board of Higher Education, the Department of Community College and Workforce Development, the Oregon Student Access Commission, the Oregon Community College Association, Associated Oregon Industries, the Oregon Business Council, and the Oregon Community Foundation. HB 3120

permitted the Governor to reappoint a new HECC composed of 9 voting Commissioners (one from each Congressional district and four members of the general public) and 5 non-voting members to be appointed by the Governor after receiving recommendations from student, faculty and non-faculty staff organizations at community colleges and public universities. The non-voting members were, and currently are, comprised of one student from a public university, one faculty member from a public university, one student from a community college, one faculty member from a community college, and one non-faculty staff member from either a public university or community college. The appointments require Senate confirmation.

Dennis Jones was asked to weigh in on SB 270 and HB 3120 in May 2013 prior to their passage. He noted several strengths of the proposals but highlighted concerns that he would have about constituent groups, such as students and faculty representatives, serving on the statewide coordinating board. He noted that a coordinating board should be "comprised of leading civic and business leaders from throughout the state, not stakeholder representatives." He advised the coordinating board members should "think – and act – on the basis of consideration for the future of the state, not the needs of (inside higher education) stakeholder groups." His full letter is attached for your reference.

The universities agree with the sentiments expressed by Mr. Jones. We appreciate the full participation of students, faculty, and non-faculty staff members on institutional governing boards and see no reason to disrupt the agreements that led to the current composition of university governing boards and the HECC.